Está en la página 1de 13

Jeepneys are the most popular

means of public transportation

in the Philippines. They were
originally made from US military
jeeps left over from World War II
and are known for their
flamboyant decoration and
crowded seating. They have
become a symbol of Philippine





The Manila LRT Yellow Line is the first metro line

of the Manila Light Rail Transit System. Presently,
the line contains twenty-two stations and runs over
twenty point seven kilometers of fully elevated
track. As the name implies, the line is colored
yellow on all LRT maps.
The line runs in a general north-south direction
from Baclaran to Monumento; then, it runs in an
east-west direction from Monumento to North
Avenue, linking the cities of Quezon City, Caloocan,
Manila, Pasay, and Paranaque. Passengers can
transfer to the Purple Line at Doroteo Jose station,
while passengers can transfer to the Blue Line at
EDSA and North Avenue stations.

The Manila LRT Purple Line (MRT-2) is the second line of the
Manila Light Rail Transit System. The line contains eleven
stations and runs over 13.8 kilometers of mostly elevated track,
with the exception of Katipunan station, which is underground.
As the name implies, the line is colored purple on all LRT maps.
The line runs in a general east-west direction, linking the cities
of Manila, San Juan, Quezon City, Marikina and Pasig.
Passengers can transfer to the Yellow Line at Recto station,
while passengers can transfer to the Blue Line at Araneta
Center-Cubao station.
Before the launch of the Strong Republic Transit System, the
Purple Line was known as MRT Line 2, shortened to MRT-2, or
the Megatren. The former names are still used colloquially.
However, the purple color of the line dates back to its opening
in 2003.
Unlike the LRT Line and the MRT Line 3, this line uses heavy
rail metro vehicles.

The Metro Rail Transit (MRT-3) is Metro Manila's third

rapid transit line. It forms part of the Strong Republic
Transit System,[1] which includes the Manila Light Rail
Transit System. The line operates under the name
Metrostar Express and is colored blue on rail maps.
The line is located along the Epifanio de los Santos Avenue
(EDSA), one of Metro Manila's main thoroughfares. It has
thirteen stations along its 16.95km track which passes
through the cities of Makati, Mandaluyong, Pasay, Quezon
City, and San Juan. While originally intended to decongest
EDSA, the MRT-3 has been only partially successful in
decongesting EDSA, and congestion is further aggravated
by the rising number of motor vehicles.[2] The expansion of
the system to cover the entire stretch of EDSA is expected
to contribute to current attempts to decongest the
thoroughfare and to cut travel times.

The Philippine National Railways (Filipino: Pambansang

Daangbakal ng Pilipinas), commonly abbreviated as PNR, is a stateowned railway operator in the Philippines, operating an extensive
railway line on the island of Luzon. As of 2010, it operates two
commuter rail services in Metro Manila and the Bicol Region. The
commuter line in Metro Manila is part of the Strong Republic Transit
System and is referred to as the Orange Line.
PNR began operations on June 26, 1875 as the Ferrocaril de ManilaDagupan, during the Spanish colonial period, and later becoming the
Manila Railroad Company (MRR) during the American colonial period.
It became the Philippine National Railways on June 20, 1946 by virtue
of Republic Act No. 4156. The PNR is an attached agency under the
Department of Transportation and Communications.
PNR used to operate over 479km of route from La Union up to Bicol.
However, continued neglect in past decades reduced PNR's efficiency
and railroad coverage. Persistent problems with informal settlers in
the 1990s contributed further to PNR's decline. In 2006, Typhoons
Milenyo and Reming caused severe damage to the network, resulting
in the suspension of the Manila-Bicol services.

The Manila Red Line or Mass Rapid Transit Line 7 (Red

Line/MRT-7) will be the fourth rapid transit line to be built in
Metro Manila. When completed, the line will be 23 km long with
14 stations, and will be operated by the Universal LRT
Corporation. The line will run in a northeast direction, traversing
Quezon City and a part of Caloocan City in Metro Manila before
ending at the City of San Jose del Monte in Bulacan province.
Passengers will be able to transfer to the Yellow Line and Blue
Line through the Metro Manila Integrated Rail Terminal that will
link the three lines at North Avenue in Quezon City.
Under the proposal, the project will have a combined 45-km of
road and rail transportation project from the Bocaue exit of the
North Luzon Expressway (NLEX) to the intersection of North
Avenue and EDSA. The 22-km, 6-lane asphalt road will connect
the NLEX to the major transportation hub development in San
Jose del Monte. The 23-km mostly elevated MRT starts from
there and ends at the integrated station beside SM City North


Does not hinder road traffic




TRACKS 424.8 Km