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Chapter 8

Media Planning

Media Planning
The process of designing a course of action that shows how advertising time and space will be used to contribute to the achievement of advertising and marketing objectives.

Media Planning Process


(1) Environmental Analysis (2) Media Objectives - Reach: No. of different persons or households exposed to a particular advertising media vehicle or schedule during a specific period of time . Circulation, Readership

Media Planning Process


Media Objectives -Frequency: No. of times the customer is exposed to the companys message during a specific time period. -Continuity: Scheduling of media exposures of a particular advertisement or campaign within a given period. There are three types of continuity alternatives.. Continuous, Pulsating & Discontinuous

Continuos Scheduling
35 30 25 20 15 10 5 0 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June Campaign Duration
Media Spending(Rs. in Lakhs)

Examples: Salt, Soaps, Detergents, Toothpastes etc.

Discontinuos Scheduling
70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June Campaign Duration
Media Spending(Rs. in Lakhs)

Examples: Rasna

Pulsating Scheduling
70 60 50 40 30 20 10 0 Jan Feb Mar Apr May June Campaign Duration
Media Spending(Rs. in Lakhs)

Examples: LG, Whirlpool etc

Media Planning Process


Media Objectives
- Costs: (a) CPM (Cost per thousand) = Measure cost effectiveness of a media channel. (cost of Ad * 1000) / circulation or gross reach (b) CPRP (Cost per rating point) = Calculates the cost incurred in reaching target customers. Unit cost of the media vehicle / rating of the program

Calculation of CPM
Magazine A Cost per page Circulation Rs 2,05,000 40 lakhs Magazine B Rs 1,95,000 32 lakhs

CPM

2,05,000*1,000/ 1,95,000*100 40,00,000= 0/32,00,000 = Rs 60.93 Rs 51.25

Calculation of CPRP
Program A Program B

Cost per spot ad Rating

Rs 4,725
16

Rs 4,896
19

Reach 2,15,000 3,12,000 (households) CPRP Rs 4,725/16 Rs 4,896/19 = Rs 295.31 = Rs 257.68

Media Planning Process


(3) Media Strategy - Target Audience Decisions - Media Budgeting - Media Selection Selection of media class Selection of media vehicles

Selection of media class


Reach of the media Audience Size Budget Allocation Competitor Advertising Strategy Creative Needs Amount of information that has to be conveyed

Selection of media vehicles


Product Fit

Target Audience
Geographical Flexibility

Media Planning Process


(3) Media Strategy - Media Scheduling Timing Decision: Interest in the product is high, Lean season, Competitors Schedule, Receptive. Continuity Decision: Continuous, Discontinuous, Pulsating.

Media Planning Process


(4) Implementation of media plan
Executive Summary Overview of Environmental Analysis Description of media objectives Description of media strategy Detailed media schedule & expenditure Controls

Management Science & Media Planning Models

Evaluation Models: Evaluates the effectiveness of the media schedules.


Allocation Models: Helps to select the best media schedule in the given constraint.

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