Está en la página 1de 2

Diandra Pramesti NK A2B008026

Government of United States

The Constitution The Constitution has three main principles. They are: inherent rights, or rights that anyone living in America has; government by the people; and, separation of powers, which gives each branch of the government different powers. In United States, The Founding Fathers wanted to make sure that one person or group of people could not control the government alone, and therefore, they created the check and balance system. Check and balance system was set up in three separate branches of the government, each with its own power. These branches are the executive, legislative, and judicial. The Executive Branch The executive branch is perhaps the most complex. Its job is to enforce the laws of the United States. It is made up of: the President; the Vice President. the executive departments; and, the independent agencies. Each has special powers and functions. These are the general powers: The President acts as leader of the country and Commander in Chief of the military. He or she directs the federal government and enforces federal laws. The Vice President presides over the Senate and votes in case of a tie. He or she becomes President if the President is disabled or otherwise cannot serve. The departments, and their heads, the Cabinet members, advise the President on specific policy issues and help carry out those policies. The independent agencies help carry out policy or provide special services.


Diandra Pramesti NK A2B008026

The legislative branch, or Congress, makes the laws which govern the nation. Congress is divided into two houses, the Senate and the House of Representatives. This is called a bicameral legislature. The House and Senate have some separate and some shared responsibilities. The duties of legislative branch are: regulating money and trade, including - printing or coining of money, - borrowing of money by the government, - levying and collecting taxes, and, - regulating trade between states and with foreign countries; providing for the national defense, including - maintaining the Army, Navy and Air Force, and declaring war. making laws regarding naturalization of persons seeking citizenship; establishing post offices; regulating the system of weights and measures passing laws to govern the District of Columbia, the nation's capital. THE JUDICIAL BRANCH The judicial branch is made up of different federal courts. It is responsible for explaining and interpreting the laws. People take cases to court to preserve the rights guaranteed to them in the constitution and by law. They also can take cases to court if they believe the laws passed by congress or by a state are unconstitutional. Duties of judicial: to explain the meaning of the Constitution, laws of the United States and treaties; to settle legal disputes between citizens of different states; to settle legal disagreements between two or more states; to settle legal questions between states and the federal government; to settle legal disagreements between individuals and the federal government; to settle disagreements between states and foreign governments or their citizens; and, to naturalize persons as United States citizens. In summary, United States government system is consisted of three branches that have their own roles to control, check, and balance each other in order to make the United States government fair and controlled well for the sake of many people. Source: