Está en la página 1de 1

Executive Board

Conseil exécutif
Consejo Ejecutivo
Исполнительный совет
‫المجلس التنفيذي‬

The Chairperson
Representatives of the States
Members of the Executive
Board of UNESCO

Ref : GBS/SCX/2020/046 27 May 2020

Dear Colleagues,

The Bureau of the Executive Board met virtually on 25 May 2020 and
recommended that the 6th Special session of the Executive Board be
postponed. This recommendation was made for several reasons including the
need to improve the quality of the documents in conformity with the
requirements and expectations expressed in detail by Members States during
the Bureau meeting, the need to reach consensus on the decisions prior to the
Special session, the need to solve the technical difficulties that are clearly
associated with the platform to be used (Interprefy), and the need to urgently
put at the service of the Governing Organs a team of staff within GBS that can
respect the constitutional authority of the Member States.

Considering the above, I have approved the recommendation to postpone the

Sixth Special session of the Executive Board in conformity with Rule 2 of the
Rules of Procedure. You are kindly invited to participate in the session, which
will take place 10 a.m.-1 p.m. and 3-6 p.m. on 8 and 9 June 2020.

The agenda of the special session remains unchanged:

1. Methods of work of the Executive Board under confinement

2. Impact of COVID-19 on UNESCO’s Programmes and activities
3. 209th session of the Executive Board: update from the Secretariat on the
prevailing situation at Headquarters and possible impact on the 209th

Due to the current sanitary restrictions in place in the host country and at
UNESCO Headquarters, the Secretariat has informed that it has selected the
Interprefy platform for the conduct of the Special session, which will take place

I look forward to seeing you all on 8 and 9 June and thank you for your
continued support.

Yours sincerely,

7, place de Fontenoy Agapito Mba Mokuy

75352 Paris 07 SP, France
Tél. : +33 (0)1 45 68 20 11
Cc : Permanent Delegations to UNESCO