Official Journal of the European Communities

C 293 E/17
Thursday 28 February 2002

(2002/C 293 E/02)


1. Opening of sitting
The sitting opened at 09.00.

2. Approval of Minutes of previous sitting
Mr Boselli, Mr Valdivielso de Cué and Mr Cashman had informed the Chair that they had been present at the previous day’s sitting but that their names were not on the attendance register. The Minutes of the previous sitting were approved. * * *

Mr MacCormick complained about the fact that the document drawn up by the Secretariat concerning the programming of work in committees had been published only in a very limited edition, namely only one copy per Member; he pointed out that this document was also very useful to outside bodies and asked for it to be made more widely available; referring then to the vote on 6 February on the Watson report concerning measures to combat terrorism and the European arrest warrant (Item 14 of Minutes of 6 February), he noted that Mrs Doyle had then states that the PPE-DE Group had mistakenly not voted in favour of the so-called ‘habeas corpus’ amendment, as a result of which the amendment had been rejected; in view of the importance of the matter, he asked that this fact be drawn to the attention of both Commissioner Vitorino and Mrs Palacio Vallelersundi, chairman of the LIBE Committee, the committee responsible (the President took note of his second request but, concerning his first request, pointed out that according to his information the President of Parliament intended to entrust one of the Vice-Presidents with the question of relations and communication between Parliament and the citizens of Europe, and that Mr MacCormick’s request could therefore be addressed by that Vice-President).

3. Verification of credentials
On a proposal from the Committee on Legal Affairs and the Internal Market, Parliament ratified the appointments of Mr Vermeer and Mr Ole Sørensen

4. Socrates Programme (debate)
Mrs Pack introduced her report, drawn up on behalf of the Committee on Culture, Youth, Education, the Media and Sport, on the implementation of the Socrates Programme (2000/2315(INI)) (A5-0021/ 2002). The following spoke: Hieronymi, on behalf of the PPE-DE Group, Prets, on behalf of the PSE Group, Sanders-ten Holt, on behalf of the ELDR Group, Eurig Wyn, on behalf of the Verts/ALE Group, Alyssandrakis, on behalf of the GUE/NGL Group, Mussa, on behalf of the UEN Group, Perry, Iivari, Echerer, Alavanos, Hyland and Reding, Member of the Commission. The President closed the debate. Vote: Item 21.