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Cost-volume-profit (CVP) analysis is a simple but powerful tool to assist management make operating
decisions. Which of the following does not represent a potential use of CVP analysis?
A.
B.
C.
D.
CVP addresses pricing and volume, it does not address tax planning
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Comprehension
Difficulty: Easy
Lanen - Chapter 03 #21
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
22.
Which of the following would not cause the break-even point to change?
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
Volume is not a component of the break-evenit is what you are solving for.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #22
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
23.
If the fixed costs for a product decrease and the variable costs (as a percentage of sales dollars) decrease,
what will be the effect on the contribution margin ratio and the break-even point respectively?
A.
B.
C.
D.
a
b
c
d
24.
The Blue Company is currently selling its single product for $15. Variable costs are estimated to
remain at 70% of the current selling price and fixed costs are estimated to be $4,800 per month. If Blue
increases its selling price by 10%, its variable cost ratio will
A. not change
B. decrease
C. increase
$15(.70) = $10.50
$15(1.10) = $16.50
$10.50/$16.50 = 63.6% (vs. 70%)
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #24
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
25.
Expense A is a fixed cost expense, B is a variable cost. During the current year the volume of output has
decreased. In terms of cost per unit of output, we would expect that
A.
B.
C.
D.
VC per unit does not change while FC per unit does change with volume changes.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Easy
Lanen - Chapter 03 #25
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
26.
If both the variable cost per unit and the selling price per unit decrease, the new contribution margin
ratio in relation to the old contribution margin ratio will be:
A.
B.
C.
D.
Lower.
Higher.
Unchanged.
Not enough information to tell.
Also need to know the relative size of the changecould either increase or decrease.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #26
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
27.
Units sold does not affect break-evenit will affect the margin of safety.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Comprehension
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #27
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
28.
Which of the following changes to a company's contribution income statement will always lower the
break-even point (either in units or in dollars)?
A.
B.
C.
D.
A sales price increase or a variable cost decrease will always lower the break-even point. Answer D will
depend upon the relative size of the fixed costs.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #28
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
29.
Operating leverage refers to the extent to which an organization's cost structure is made up of:
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
differential costs.
opportunity costs.
fixed costs.
relevant costs.
product costs.
30.
An increase in fixed costs will increase the break-even point which lowers the margin of safety, all the
others decrease the break-even point.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Comprehension
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #30
Learning Objective: 2
Topic Area: Margin of Safety
31.
At a break-even point of 400 units, variable costs were $400 and fixed costs were $200. What will the
401st unit sold contribute to operating profits before income taxes?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$.50
$1.00
$1.50
$2.00
32.
Barnes Corporation manufactures skateboards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
The break-even point (rounded to the nearest dollar) for Barnes Corporation for the current year is
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
$146,341.
$636,364.
$729,730.
$181,818.
$658,537.
33.
Barnes Corporation manufactures skateboards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
For the coming year, the management of Barnes Corporation anticipates a 10 percent increase in sales, a
12 percent increase in variable costs, and a $45,000 increase in fixed expenses.
The break-even point for next year would be
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
$729,027.
$862,103.
$214,018.
$474,000.
$700,000.
34.
If sales decrease by 500 units, how much will fixed expenses have to be reduced by to maintain the
current operating profit of $6,000?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$9,000.
$7,500.
$6,000.
$3,000.
35.
XYZ Company's sales are $750,000 with operating profits of $130,000. If the contribution margin ratio
is 40%, what did the fixed costs amount to?
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
$370,000.
$300,000.
$270,000.
$170,000.
$130,000.
36.
The following costs have been estimated based on sales of 30,000 units:
$59.38
$43.75
$39.58
$33.25
37.
Fowler Manufacturing Company has a fixed cost of $225,000 for the production of tubes. Estimated
sales are 150,000 units. A before tax profit of $125,000 is desired by the controller. If the tubes sell for
$5 each, what unit contribution margin is required to attain the profit target?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$3.00.
$2.33.
$1.47.
$.90.
38.
JJ Motors Inc. employs 45 sales personnel to market their line of luxury automobiles. The average
car sells for $23,000, and a 6 percent commission is paid to the salesperson. JJ Motors is considering
a change to the commission arrangement where the company would pay each salesperson a salary of
$2,000 per month plus a commission of 2 percent of the sales made by that salesperson. The amount of
total monthly car sales at which JJ Motors would be indifferent as to which plan to select is
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
$2,250,000.
$3,000,000.
$1,500,000.
$1,250,000.
$4,500,000.
($2,000 45) + (.02)(total revenue) = (.06)(total revenue); $90,000 + .02TR = .06TR; $90,000 = .04TR;
TR = $90,000/.04 = $2,250,000
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #38
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Alternative Cost Structures
39.
What would expected net income be if the company experienced a 10 percent increase in fixed costs
and 10 percent increase in sales volume?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$1,750.
$1,550.
$1,250.
$1,375.
40.
If sales decrease by 500 units, by what % would fixed expenses have to be reduced by to maintain
current net income?
A.
B.
C.
D.
50.0%.
33.3%.
25.0%.
16.7%.
41.
The Dooley Co. manufactures two products, Baubles and Trinkets. The following are projections for the
coming year:
How many Baubles will be sold at the break-even point, assuming that the facilities are jointly used and
the sales mix will remain constant?
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
9,900
8,800
6,600
5,000
3,300
Baubles CM: ($10,000 - 6,000)/10,000 units = $0.40/unit; Trinkets: ($10,000 - 4,000)/5,000 units =
$1.20/unit
Sales mix 2 Bauble: 1 Trinket; CM per bundle = 2 $0.40 + 1 $1.20 = $2.00/bundle
Fixed cost = $2,000 + 4,600 = $6,600; Break-even: $6,600/$2 = 3,300 bundles
Baubles: 2 3,300 bundles = 6,600 units
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #41
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Multiproduct CVP Analysis
42.
Breakeven analysis assumes that over the relevant range (CPA adapted):
A.
B.
C.
D.
We assume linearity of fixed costs & revenues. Total costs will change since total variable costs change.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Knowledge
Difficulty: Easy
Lanen - Chapter 03 #42
Learning Objective: 5
Topic Area: Assumptions and Limitations of CVP Analysis
43.
At the break-even point the total contribution margin equals total: (CPA adapted)
A.
B.
C.
D.
Variable costs
Sales revenues
Selling and administrative costs
Fixed costs
44.
On January 1, 2006, Lake Co. increased its direct labor wage rates. All other budgeted costs and
revenues were unchanged. How did this increase affect Lake's budgeted break-even point and budgeted
margin of safety? (CPA adapted)
A.
B.
C.
D.
a
b
c
d
Direct labor is a variable cost, so the unit contribution margin will decrease, increasing the break-even
point. Since break-even increases and sales are unchanged, the margin of safety decreases.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #44
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
45.
During 2006, Thor Lab supplied hospitals with a comprehensive diagnostic kit for $120. At a volume
of 80,000 kits, Thor had fixed costs of $1,000,000 and a profit before income taxes of $200,000. Due to
an adverse legal decision, Thor's 2007 liability insurance increased by $1,200,000 over 2006. Assuming
the volume and other costs are unchanged, what should the 2007 price be if Thor is to make the same
$200,000 profit before income taxes? (CPA adapted)
A.
B.
C.
D.
$122.50
$135.00
$152.50
$240.00
46.
$200,000
$160,000
$50,000
$40,000
47.
The following pertains to Clove Co. for the year ending December 31, 2008:
$300,000
$400,000
$500,000
$800,000
48.
Kator Inc. manufactures industrial components. One of its products used as a subcomponent in auto
manufacturing is KB-96. The selling price and cost per unit data for 9,000 units of KB-96 is as follows.
During the next year, sales of KB-96 are expected to be 10,000 units. All costs will remain the same
except for fixed manufacturing overhead, which will increase 20%, and material, which will increase
10%. The selling price per unit for next year will be $160. Based on this data, Kator Inc.'s total
contribution margin for next year will be: (CMA adapted)
A.
B.
C.
D.
$882,000
$980,000
$972,000
$1,080,000
Donnelly Corporation manufactures and sells T-shirts imprinted with college names and slogans. Last
year, the shirts sold for $7.50 each, and the variable cost to manufacture them was $2.25 per unit. The
company needed to sell 20,000 shirts to break even. The after tax net income last year was $5,040.
Donnelly's expectations for the coming year include the following: (CMA adapted)
The sales price of the T-shirts will be $9
Variable cost to manufacture will increase by one-third
Fixed costs will increase by 10%
The income tax rate of 40% will be unchanged.
Lanen - Chapter 03
49.
The selling price that would maintain the same contribution margin ratio as last year is
A.
B.
C.
D.
$9.00.
$8.25.
$10.00.
$9.50.
If variable cost increases by 1/3, then the selling price must also increase by 1/3 to maintain the same
contribution margin ratio. $7.50 = 1/3 $7.50 = $10.00
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #49
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Income Taxes
50.
The number of T-shirts Donnelly Corporation must sell to break even in the coming year is
A.
B.
C.
D.
17,000 units.
19,250 units.
20,000 units.
22,000 units.
51.
Sales for the coming year are expected to exceed last year's by 1,000 units. If this occurs, Donnelly's
sales volume in the coming year will be
A.
B.
C.
D.
22,600 units.
21,960 units.
23,400 units.
21,000 units.
52.
If Donnelly Corporation wishes to earn $22,500 in after tax net income for the coming year, the
company's sales volume in dollars must be
A.
B.
C.
D.
$213,750.
$257,625.
$207,000.
$229,500.
53.
How many units must Sanfran produce and sell in order to break-even?
A.
B.
C.
D.
8,333 units
12,500 units
15,000 units
22,500 units
54.
How many units must Sanfran produce and sell in order to achieve a profit of $30,000 per month?
A.
B.
C.
D.
10,000 units
8,824 units
25,000 units
15,000 units
55.
If Sanfran produces and sells 30,000 units, what is the margin of safety?
A.
B.
C.
D.
5,000 units
7,500 units
22,500 units
30,000 units
56.
$822,222
$833,333
$900,000
$1,233,333
57.
What dollar sales volume does RedTail need to achieve a $50,000 operating profit per month?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$1,400,000
$7,560,000
$933,333
$1,233,333
58.
If RedTail has actual monthly sales of $1,500,000 and desires an operating profit of $50,000 per month,
what is the margin of safety?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$100,000
$266,667
$50,000
$1,130,000
59.
KR Sales had $1,200,000 in sales last month. The variable cost ratio was 60% and operating profits
were $80,000. What is KR's break-even sales volume?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$800,000
$1,000,000
$1,200,000
$2,000,000
60.
KR Sales had $1,200,000 in sales last month. The variable cost ratio was 60% and operating profits
were $80,000. What sales volume does KR's need to yield a $200,000 operating profit?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$1,000,000
$1,200,000
$1,500,000
$2,000,000
61.
KR Sales had $1,200,000 in sales last month. The variable cost ratio was 60% and operating profits
were $80,000. What is KR's margin of safety?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$200,000
$300,000
$500,000
Cannot determine with the information given.
62.
Acme Sales has two store locations. Store A has fixed costs of $125,000 per month and a variable cost
ratio of 60%. Store B has fixed costs of $200,000 per month and a variable cost ratio of 30%. At what
sales volume would the two stores have equal profits?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$250,000
$325,000
$361,111
Cannot determine with the information given.
63.
Acme Sales has two store locations. Store A has fixed costs of $125,000 per month and a variable cost
ratio of 60%. Store B has fixed costs of $200,000 per month and a variable cost ratio of 30%. What is
the break-even sales volume for Store B?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$666,667
$325,000
$285,714
Cannot determine with the information given.
64.
Acme Sales has two store locations. Store A has fixed costs of $125,000 per month and a variable cost
ratio of 60%. Store B has fixed costs of $200,000 per month and a variable cost ratio of 30%. What is
the break-even sales volume for Store A?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$208,333
$312,500
$325,000
Cannot determine with the information given.
65.
Genco Sales has two store locations. Carslberg has fixed costs of $250,000 per month and a contribution
margin ratio of 35%. Tuborg has fixed costs of $400,000 per month and a contribution margin ratio of
65%. At what sales volume would the two stores have equal profits?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$500,000
$650,000
$1,300,000
Cannot determine with the information given.
66.
Which of the following would not cause the break-even point to change?
A.
B.
C.
D.
E.
67.
Which of the following would not cause the break-even point to change?
A.
B.
C.
D.
68.
If the fixed costs for a product increase and the variable costs (as a percentage of sales dollars) increase,
what will be the effect on the contribution margin ratio and the break-even point respectively?
A.
B.
C.
D.
a
b
c
d
A variable cost increase will decrease CM%; a fixed cost increase will increase the break-even point.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #68
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
69.
70.
Income taxes do not affect break-even; taxes are based on before tax profit.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #70
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Income Taxes
71.
72.
If both the variable cost per unit and the selling price per unit increase, the new contribution margin
ratio in relation to the old contribution margin ratio will be:
A.
B.
C.
D.
Lower.
Higher.
Unchanged.
Not enough information to tell.
73.
Misa Corporation manufactures circuit boards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
53.6%
49.3%
46.4%
25%
74.
Misa Corporation manufactures circuit boards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
The break-even point (rounded to the nearest dollar) for Misa Corporation for the current year is
A.
B.
C.
D.
$2,625,000.
$1,865,672.
$1,724,138.
$2,155,172.
75.
Misa Corporation manufactures circuit boards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
For the coming year, the management of Misa Corporation anticipates a 5 percent decrease in sales, a
10 percent increase in all variable costs, and a $45,000 increase in fixed expenses.
The operating profit for next year would be
A.
B.
C.
D.
$477,500.
$492,500.
$552,500.
$831,250.
76.
Misa Corporation manufactures circuit boards and is in the process of preparing next year's budget. The
pro forma income statement for the current year is presented below.
For the coming year, the management of Misa Corporation anticipates a 5 percent decrease in sales, a
10 percent increase in variable costs, and a $45,000 increase in fixed expenses.
The break-even point for next year would be
A.
B.
C.
D.
$3,022,500.
$2,947,500.
$2,668,750.
$2,168,225.
77.
If unit sales decrease by 10%, how much will fixed expenses have to be reduced by to maintain the
current operating profit?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$12,000.
$4,500.
$6,000.
$1,800.
78.
If sales decrease by 10%, what level of fixed expenses will maintain the current operating profit?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$12,000.
$20,400.
$21,600.
$24,000.
79.
If sales increase by 10%, what level of fixed expenses will yield a 20% increase in profits?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$14,400.
$19,200.
$25,200.
$26,400.
80.
EM Sales had $2,200,000 in sales last month. The contribution margin ratio was 30% and operating
profits were $180,000. What is EM's break-even sales volume?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$660,000
$1,540,000
$1,600,000
$2,020,000
81.
EM Sales had $2,200,000 in sales last month. The contribution margin ratio was 30% and operating
profits were $180,000. What sales volume does EM's need to yield a $240,000 operating profit?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$600,000
$2,020,000
$2,400,000
$2,440,000
82.
EM Sales had $2,200,000 in sales last month. The contribution margin ratio was 30% and operating
profits were $180,000. What is EM's margin of safety?
A.
B.
C.
D.
$480,000
$600,000
$2,020,000
Cannot determine with the information given.
83.
Kanmore produces and sells three products. Last month's results are as follows:
Fixed costs total $200,000. What is Kanmore's break-even sales volume? (Assume the current product
mix)
A.
B.
C.
D.
$500,000
$416,667
$384,615
$460,000
84.
Kanmore produces and sells three products. Last month's results are as follows:
Fixed costs total $200,000. What is Kanmore's margin of safety? (Assume the current product mix)
A.
B.
C.
D.
$83,333
$40,000
$460,000
$115,385
85.
Kanmore produces and sells three products. Last month's results are as follows:
Fixed costs total $200,000. What sales volume would generate an operating profit of $150,000? (Assume
the current prodcut mix)
A.
B.
C.
D.
$650,000
$610,000
$729,167
$850,000
86.
The Katie Corporation has budgeted fixed costs of $125,000 and an estimated selling price of $16.50
per unit. The contribution margin ratio is 40% and the company plans to sell 25,000 units in 2011.
Required:
(a) Compute the break-even point in dollars.
(b) Compute the margin of safety for 2011.
(c) Compute the expected operating profit for 2011.
(a) BE = $125,000/.40 = $312,500
(b) Estimated sales = 25,000 units $16.50 = $412,500
Margin of safety = $412,500 - 312,500 = $100,000
(c) $412,500 40% - $125,000 = $40,000
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Easy
Lanen - Chapter 03 #86
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
87.
The president of AMG Enterprises is considering expanding sales by producing three different versions
of their product. Each will be targeted by the marketing department to different income levels and hence
will be produced from three different qualities of materials. After reviewing the sales forecasts, the sales
department feels that for every item of A sold, 4 of M can be sold and 8 of G can be sold.
The following information has been assembled by the sales department and the production department.
The fixed costs associated with the manufacture of these three products are $75,000 per year.
Required:
Determine the number of units of each product that would be sold at the break-even point.
Weighted average CM = [(15 - 9)(1) + (10 - 7)(4) + (5 - 4.50)(8)]/(1 + 4 + 8) = $1.69231
BE = $75,000/1.69231 = 44,319 total units
A = 44,319 (1/13) = 3,410
M = 44,319 (4/13) = 13,637
G = 44,319 (8/13) = 27,274
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #87
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Multiproduct CVP Analysis
88.
Stanley Clipper, now retired, owns the Campus Barber Shop. He employs five (5) barbers and pays each
a base rate of $500 per month. One of the barbers serves as the manager and receives an extra $300 per
month. In addition to the base rate, each barber also receives a commission of $3 per haircut. A barber
can do as many as 20 haircuts a day, but the average is 14 haircuts per day. The Campus Barber Shop is
open 24 days a month. You can safely ignore income taxes.
Other costs are incurred as follows:
89.
Stanley Clipper, now retired, owns the Campus Barber Shop. He employs five (5) barbers and pays each
a base rate of $500 per month. One of the barbers serves as the manager and receives an extra $300 per
month. In addition to the base rate, each barber also receives a commission of $3 per haircut. A barber
can do as many as 20 haircuts a day, but the average is 14 haircuts per day. The Campus Barber Shop is
a corporation with a 30% tax rate and is open 24 days a month.
Other costs are incurred as follows:
90.
You have been provided with the following information regarding the ALG Manufacturing Company:
91.
Almo Company manufactures and sells adjustable canopies that attach to motor homes and trailers.
The market covers both new unit purchasers as well as replacement canopies. Almo developed its 2011
business plan based on the assumption that canopies would sell at a price of $400 each. The variable
costs for each canopy were projected to be $200, and the annual fixed costs were budgeted at $100,000.
The goal for Almo's after-tax operating profits was $240,000; the company's effective tax rate is 40%
While Almo's sales usually rise during the second quarter, the May financial statements reported that
sales were not meeting expectations. For the first five months of 2011, only 350 units had been sold
at the established price, with variable costs as planned. It was clear that the 2011 after-tax operating
profit goal would not be reached unless some corrective actions were taken. Almo's president assigned
a management committee to analyze the situation and develop several alternative courses of action. The
following mutually exclusive alternatives were presented to the president:
(1) Reduce the sales price by $40. The sales department predicts that with the significantly reduced
price, 2,700 units can be sold during the remainder of 2011. Total fixed and variable unit costs will stay
as budgeted.
(2) Lower variable costs per unit by $25 through the use of less expensive materials and lightly
modified manufacturing techniques. The sales price will also be reduced by $30. These changes will
yield sales of 2,200 for the remainder of 2011.
(3) Cut fixed costs by $10,000 and lower the sales price by 5%. Variable costs per unit will be
unchanged. Sales of 2,000 units can be expected for the remainder of 2011.
Required:
(a) If no changes are made to the selling price or cost structure, determine the number of units that Almo
must sell in order to break-even.
(b) If no changes are made to the selling price or cost structure, determine the number of units that
Almo must sell in order to achieve its after-tax operating profit objective.
(c) Determine which one of the alternatives Almo should select to achieve its after-tax operating profit
objective. Be sure to support your selection with appropriate computations.
(a) (1) $100,000/($400 - 200) = 500 units
(b) [$100,000 + 240,000/(1 - .40)]/(400 - 200) = 2,500 units
(c) Only alternative 1 achieves the targeted operating profit objective of $240,000, although alternative
2 is close.
(1) {[(400 - 200)350] + [(360 - 200)2,700] - 100,000}(1 - .40) = $241,200
(2) {[(400 - 200)350] + [(370 - 175)2,200] - 100,000}(1 - .40) = $239,400
(3) {[(400 - 200)350] + [(380 - 200)2,000] - 90,000}(1 - .40) = $204,000
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Synthesis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #91
Learning Objective: 1
Learning Objective: 2
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
92.
T-Tunes, Inc. is considering the introduction of a new music player with the following price and cost
characteristics:
Required
(a) How many units must T-Tunes sell to break even?
(b) How many units must T-Tunes sell to make an operating profit of $120,000 for the year?
(c) If projected sales are 7,500 units, what is the margin of safety in units?
(a) $180,000/(125 - 75) = 3,600 units
(b) ($180,000 + 120,000)/(125 - 75) = 6,000 units
(c) 7,500 - 3,600 = 3,900 units
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Easy
Lanen - Chapter 03 #92
Learning Objective: 1
Learning Objective: 2
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
93.
Zuma, Inc. is considering the introduction of a new music player with the following price and cost
characteristics:
94.
You have been provided with the following information regarding the VLCD Manufacturing Company:
95.
You have been provided with the following information regarding the VLCD Manufacturing Company:
96.
You have been provided with the following information regarding the York Manufacturing Company:
97.
You have been provided with the following information regarding the York Manufacturing Company:
98.
99.
100.
The Scottso Corporation has budgeted fixed costs of $225,000 and an estimated selling price of $24 per
unit. The variable cost ratio is 40% and the company plans to sell 48,000 units in 2010.
Required:
(a) Compute the break-even point in units.
(b) Compute the margin of safety (in units) for 2010.
(c) Compute the expected operating profit for 2010.
(a) BE = $225,000/($24 - .40 $24) = 15,625 units
(b) Margin of safety = 48,000 - 15,625 = 32,375 units
(c) 48,000 ($24 .6) - $225,000 = $466,200
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #100
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
101.
Rosy's Creations has budgeted annual fixed costs of $240,000 and an estimated variable cost ratio of
60%.
Required:
(a) Compute Rosy's break-even point.
(b) Compute Rosy's margin of safety if she expects to have revenues of $800,000.
(c) Compute Rosy's expected operating profit at the $800,000 revenue.
(a) BE = $240,000/(1 - .60) = $600,000
(b) Margin of safety = $800,000 - $600,000 = $200,000
(c) $800,000 .4 - $240,000 = $80,000
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #101
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
102.
The sales manager of Acme Enterprises is considering expanding sales by producing three different
versions of their product. Each will be targeted by the marketing department to different income levels
and will be produced from three different qualities of materials. After reviewing the sales forecasts, the
sales department feels that 40% of units sold will be the original product, 35% will be new model #1
and the remainder will be new model #2.
The following information has been assembled by the sales department and the production department.
The fixed costs associated with the manufacture of these three products are $175,000 per year.
Required:
Determine the number of units of each product that would be sold at the break-even point.
Weighted average CM = (100 - 80)(.4) + (70 - 56.25)(.35) + (50 - 37.50)(.25) = $15.9375
BE = $175,000/15.9375 = 10,980 total units
Original = 10,980 40% = 4,392 units
Model #1 = 10,980 35% = 3,843 units
Model #2 = 10,980 25% = 2,745 units
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #102
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Multiproduct CVP Analysis
103.
The sales manager of Jorgensen Sales is considering expanding sales by producing three different
versions of their product. Each will be targeted by the marketing department to different income levels
and will be produced from three different qualities of materials. After reviewing the sales forecasts, the
sales department feels that 70% of units sold will be the original product, 20% will be new model #1
and the remainder will be new model #2.
The following information has been assembled by the sales department and the production department.
The fixed costs associated with the manufacture of these three products are $250,000 per year.
Required:
(a) Determine the number of units of each product that would be sold at the break-even point.
(b) Determine the break-even point if the sales estimates are instead 50% original product, 30% model
#1 and the remainder model #2.
(a) Weighted average CM = (50 - 39.50)(.7) + (35 - 27.75)(.2) + (25 - 18.50)(.1) = $9.45
BE = $250,000/9.45 = 26,455 total units
Original = 26,455 70% = 18,519 units
Model #1 = 26,455 20% = 5,291 units
Model #2 = 26,455 10% = 2,646 units
(b) Weighted average CM = (50 - 39.50)(.5) + (35 - 27.75)(.3) + (25 - 18.50)(.2) = $8.725
BE = $250,000/8.725 = 28,653 total units
Original = 28,653 50% = 14,327 units
Model #1 = 28,653 30% = 8,596 units
Model #2 = 28,653 20% = 5,731 units
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #103
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Multiproduct CVP Analysis
104.
The Ciao Line Buffet is a new buffet-style restaurant offering pizza and Italian dishes. The buffet has
a fixed price of $8.50 per person. The estimated food costs are $2.00 per person, regardless of volume.
Fixed costs are related to the number of buffet lines that are maintained, with the estimated costs as
follows:
Required:
Determine the break-even point(s).
1 line = $30,000/(8.50 - 2) = 4,615 customers: not a feasible break-even because it exceeds volume
capability for 1 line
2 line = $37,000/6.50 = 5,692 customers: break-even
3 line = $40,000/6.50 = 6,154 customers: break-even
Ciao will break-even with 2 or 3 lines. Ciao will not break-even operating just one line.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Synthesis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #104
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Alternative Cost Structures
105.
The Spice House packages horseradish and mustards in a factory that can operate one, two or three
shifts. The product sells for $10 a case and has variable costs of $4 per case. Fixed costs are related to
the number of shifts that are operated, with the estimated costs as follows:
Required:
(a) Determine the break-even point(s).
(b) If Spice House can sell all it can produce, how many shifts should be operated?
1 shift = $3,000/(10 - 4) = 500 cases: break-even
2 shifts = $5,700/6 = 950 cases: break-even
3 shifts = $8,200/6 = 1,367 cases: break-even
Spice House will break-even at any shift level
(b) 1 shift: 2,000 6 - 3,000 = $9,000
2 shift: 4,000 6 - 5,700 = $18,300
3 shift: 6,000 6 - 8,200 = $27,800
Spice House will maximize profits by operating 3 shifts
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Synthesis
Difficulty: Hard
Lanen - Chapter 03 #105
Learning Objective: 4
Topic Area: Alternative Cost Structures
106.
Explain the difference between the break-even point, the margin of safety, and operating leverage.
Break-even is the point where the organization will make zero profit; the margin of safety is the
difference between the actual sales level and the break-even sales level; operating leverage describes the
extent to which the organization's cost structure is made up of fixed costs.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Comprehension
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #106
Learning Objective: 1
Learning Objective: 2
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
107.
Explain the difference between total contribution margin and gross margin.
Total contribution margin recognizes the distinction between fixed and variable costs and is defined
as total revenues minus total variable costs. Contribution margin does not make a distinction between
production costs and selling or administrative costs. Gross margin is total revenues minus cost of
goods sold. Gross margin recognizes the functional breakdown between production costs and selling/
adminstrative costs, but ignores the fixed/variable cost.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Comprehension
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #107
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
108.
Why is it important for the profit equation to make a distinction between fixed and variable costs?
Fixed costs will not change as volume changes, while variable costs will change.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #108
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
109.
Why is the time period so important for the definition of fixed costs?
Over a short time period fixed costs do not change while over a long time period all costs become
variable. The time period is important to make this distinction.
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Application
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03 #109
Learning Objective: 1
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
110.
ch3 Summary
Category
AACSB: Analytic
AICPA: FN-Decision Making
Blooms: Analysis
Blooms: Application
Blooms: Comprehension
Blooms: Knowledge
Blooms: Synthesis
Difficulty: Easy
Difficulty: Hard
Difficulty: Medium
Lanen - Chapter 03
Learning Objective: 1
Learning Objective: 2
Learning Objective: 4
Learning Objective: 5
Topic Area: Alternative Cost Structures
Topic Area: Assumptions and Limitations of CVP Analysis
Topic Area: Cost-Volume-Profit Analysis
Topic Area: Income Taxes
Topic Area: Margin of Safety
Topic Area: Multiproduct CVP Analysis
Topic Area: Profit Equation
Topic Area: Use of CVP to Analyze the Effect of Different Cost Structures
# of Questions
110
110
21
66
16
4
3
40
32
38
111
71
24
33
1
6
1
63
9
6
12
9
4