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EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

Internet is fast emerging as a powerful medium of advertising in the new millennium. With the number of Internet users increasing manifold, the new medium is viewed as the advertiser's dream. The Internet is the fastest growing medium in the 2000s with millions of users and an average estimated growth of 124% annually.

Internet advertising is becoming a part of some companies marketing strategy- however it requires new strategies and thinking. The benefits of Internet advertising is its ability to cover people from different geographical area with varied tastes and preferences.

This study is descriptive study and the sampling technique here used is convenience sampling. The sample size is 100 selected from the population of Kanpur . The data is collected with the help of structured questionnaire, which includes open end and close-ended questions. Here the Hypothesis Testing is done with the help of the Chisquare test, this is to test the relation ship between the two attributes.

Here the attributes are Features and Effectiveness of Online Advertisement.

The next step in the research process is Analysis and Interpretation of the Data collected from the respondents. This Analysis and Interpretation is done with the help of Graphs and Tabulation, They are prepared with the help of MS Excel software.

With the help of Analysis and interpretation the findings are drawn which includes whether consumers are aware of online advertisement, do online advertisement effect their purchase behavior.

With the critical Analysis and Interpretation the Suggestions are drawn on how to improve Online Advertisement in order to attract much of the viewership and to increase the purchasing efficiency and also to improve the methods of online advertisement. Finally a conclusion, where the briefing and the topic aspects is been given with few suggestions, finally concludes the Project Report.

INTRODUCTION

INTRODUCTION

Marketing is more than just distributing goods from the manufacturer to the final customer. It comprises all the stages from creation of the product and the after- market, which follows the eventual sales, advertising plays a very important role in this process.

The product or service itself, its meaning, packaging, pricing and distribution, are all reflected in advertising, which has been called the lifeblood of an Organisation. Without advertising, the products or services cannot flow to the distributor or sellers end on to the consumer of or user.

The need for advertising developed with the expansion of population and the flow of towns with their shops and large stores, mass production in factories, infrastructure to deliver goods & services and increasing level education. Advertising grew with the development of media, such as the coffeehouse, newspapers and the arrival of advertising agencies.

Definition: - The institution of practitioners in advertising defines "advertising presents the most persuasive possible selling message to the right prospects for the product or service have the lowest possible cost".

What is Online Advertising On line advertising is similar to other forms of communication except for one critical difference that is Internet. Consumer behaviour follows a model radically different from traditional

advertising media. This model can be explained as the progression 'Awareness - Interest - Desire - Action'. All these activities occur simultaneously in Internet advertising. Online advertising 10 entails, placing of electronic messages on a web site or email platform which achieves the following purpose Generates awareness for the brand. Stimulates interest /preference for a product or service.

Provides the means to contact the advertiser for information or to make a purchase.

History of Internet Advertising Advertising has faithfully served the print industry for 200 years, and was applied to the Internet with every expectation of success. Web advertising began with Center and Siegegls in famous Green Card Lottery message on the Usenet site in April 1994 and was followed in October by advertising placements for AT&T, MCI, Sprint, and Volvo on Hot-wired and finally the idea caught on. The Advertisement grew in sophistication, and today there are Static, rotating, scrolling, animated, flash and interstitial banner ads al which are designed to generate traffic, increase brand awareness and generate leads and sales.

Internet companies were founded on advertising revenues, and for some years the companies prospered.

Rate depended on: i. The Type of advertisement. ii. Where it appeared on the WebPages. iii. How it integrated with content. iv. How well it matched the advertisers target audience

Online advertising has to offer: 1. Scalability - Like television commercials, it doesn't cost very much to increase the reach of an online ad campaign. There is no need to print additional copies of a magazine, or to create and mail direct-mail pieces.

2. Hot demographics - The online community is more affluent, better educated, and younger and more willing to spend than the population at large. More and more people go online and the number is ever increasing.

3. Targeted messages - Unlike broadcast and print media, the Internet allows advertisers to target exactly who will see their ads, and in what context. Web publications serve every conceivable audience, from the massmarket obscure niche groups. Beyond that, the technology leads target customers by their computing platform (PCs or Macintoshes), Web browser (specific versions of Netscape Navigator or Microsoft Internet Explorer), domain type (. com, .edu, .gov, .mil, or .net) or individual domains (America Online, IBM, Prodigy).

4. Broad and flexible reach - While the Net cannot yet match television's market penetration, the size of the online audience is growing very quickly.

More importantly, because you buy online ads by the impression, you can buy as much or as little of that audience as you desire. And that's true no matter how popular or specialized the site on which your ads run- as a rule, advertising costs depend on how many impressions you buy, not on the size of a site's audience.

5. Cost-effective - Partly because you pay only for exactly what you're getting, online advertising can be extremely competitive with other forms of advertising. If you buy 1,000 ad impressions, for example, you know that exactly 1,000 people will see your ad.

6. Detailed tracking and measurement - Compared to online advertising, traditional media advertising is like shooting in the dark. The Web allows advertisers to gather detailed information on who saw an ad, when, in what context, how many times and so on. Better still; you get this information instantly, not weeks later when it's too late to adjust your campaign. Of course, not every site currently provides this level of feedback, and not every advertiser knows what to do with it. Over a period of time, however, this is likely to become one of Web advertising's most important competitive advantages.

7. The ability to extend the transaction- Traditionally, advertising was a one-way mechanism. Apart from techniques like toll-free numbers pitched in infomercials and mail-in coupons in print

publications, there was no way for customers to act on the information in the ad. On the Web, though, interested customers can click, learn more, and actually buy on the spot. There's simply nothing more powerful. 8. Good Creativity - Creative Design of Home page is very important for the surfer to get hooked on to the site. Within seconds the user should get an idea about the site and where to go within it. If the opportunity is missed the user many never return.

Hence Content is King Content is the most important element of a site. Content rich Web pages lure users. The value on the web is information. The beauty and challenge of the Web is that it gives the user, the ability to personalize non-static information and choose exactly what she sees.

Unlike commercials or print ads, a Web ad banner is only the beginning of the process. While your banner may present only your branding message, interested prospects can always click on it to go directly to your Web site. Once there, they can access as much material on your company and products as you care to present.

Graphics & the visual elements also play an important role in the users decision to stay or leave. Use of creative concepts, colors, movement & sound enhance the chances of the user staying longer on the site.

In addition to all this the creators of web sites & on line advertising must take into consideration the factors like a) How fast does the site download, b) How easily navigable the site is, c) What is the domain name, d) What are the other publicity & advertising activities which building traffic to the site?

If all such parameters are considered while selecting the web sites for online advertising, the impact of such advertising will definitely be felt. Online advertising is one medium, which helps to generate awareness about the brand being advertised, it can help in creating an image, it helps

in educating the audience and also builds interactivity & direct response. No other traditional medium has the ability to give all of this.

We are still at the experimental stage but many clients have already started allocating a budget towards online advertising & web is being considered not only as an advertising medium but also as a marketing tool. Hence online advertising, though slow to take off, will definitely be a medium of the future.

OBJECTIVE OF THE STUDY:

To ascertain the importance of online advertising as a promotional tool. To assess the effectiveness of online advertising on purchasing behavior. To ascertain which type of online advertising is preferred by consumers.

INDUSTRY PROFILE

INDUSTRY PROFILE
"Advertising is the ability to sense, interpret . . . to put the very heart throbs of a business into type, paper and ink." - Leo Burnett This statement quoted by Leo Burnett a few decades ago still holds ground as strongly as it did back then. Perhaps, with the new medium called the Internet, we can substitute type, paper and ink with site, page and link.

Internet is fast emerging as a powerful medium of advertising in the new millennium. With the number of Internet users increasing manifold, the new medium is viewed as the advertiser's dream. The Internet is the fastest growing medium in the 2000s with millions of users and an average estimated growth of 124% annually.

It has great potential as an advertising medium. Online advertising offers the advantage of reaching and interacting with the target audience, irrespective of geographical barriers, in real time. Internet offers the flexibility of two-way communication, through feedback and interaction in real time.

Online advertising presents the flexibility of moulding the campaign in response to the effectiveness in real time. Internet advertising is becoming a part of some companies marketing strategy- however it requires new strategies and thinking. The benefits of Internet advertising are its ability to cover all Promotional objectives from awareness to action by leveraging all Five Elements in the promotion mix. The Internet is also a highly selective, cost effective media with greater measurability than any other media.

Despite higher global reach Internet is not yet a local mainstream media. The Internet offer companies targeting well-educated, innovative, affluent males or students great potential for success as their segments are highly represented. Products with high information intensity and high buyer involvement are also appropriate for Internet promotion due to its large information capacity at low costs. Its distribution opportunity is especially suitable for the increasing channel of mail order products Low product fit or low audience fit companies can benefit by building a brand image to establish a user link or simply to learn about interactive media. Traditional advertising is consumed passively, yet on the Internet, users have to actively select an advert. This changes the way advertisers generate and retain customers. To persuade visitors to revisit and spend time on the website, advertisers must fulfill real customer needs on a continuous basis. This requires clear objectives and targeting. Informative quality content, advertisement with interesting entertainment or direct sales possibilities can add value to the customer. The commercial industry is going through a rapid and radical development from the 2000's. Growth in disposable income, increased purchase information and alternative service and product offerings have expanded the customers bargaining power. Todays advertiser must individualize, differentiate and customize to achieve advertising effectiveness. Targeting and building a relationship with customers on an individual basis is essential to be a successful advertiser in the 2000's.

The advertisers ideal is the best possible reach within a welldefined audience (selectivity) with good possibilities of feedback and low costs, while mass communication often forces the advertiser to accept high reach with a low selectively and no feedback opportunities in order to achieve a reasonable cost-effectiveness. The following criteria evaluate the effectiveness of the different media.

They may be new concepts right now but will be most essential part of business world in near future. In fact, the future we are talking about is already here! And to survive in this cutthroat competition, sooner your organization enters cyber world, better - because in cyber world, it's always a one-way traffic, no looking back but just zooming ahead - at lightning speed!

PRODUCT PROFILE
Some of the important products offered by Web Advertising are listed below:

Web banner and panel ads


These are small rectangular graphic images that usually have a call to action (Like "Click here"). These banners are placed on other high traffic web sites like Yahoo, AOL etc so as to get an opportunity To See (OTS). They can be placed at the top or bottom of a page. Or anywhere you like them to be.

Interstitial
Another model of Web advertising - A short-lived, usually animated ad that pops up in the browser window for about 5-10 seconds while a page is downloading and then disappears.

Inline Advertisements
Inline ads provide a way for sponsors to generate leads or deliver rich brand building messages. Similar to print adversarial, inline ads integrate within site content, ensuring that a site visitor will see them for sure. Example: When you search using Metacrawler and get results, you will see such inline ad in between search results.

Pop-Up Windows
A pop-up window delivers the advertisement in a new window on top of the site content. When you visit Homepages on Tripod.com or Geocities.com (Advertisement supported free homepage

sites), a secondary window automatically pops up continuously rotating advertisement of sponsors.

Website sponsorships
Here, the entire Website is sponsored by an advertiser. These sites are usually content or service based and has a very high traffic because of their utility value.

Classifieds
Similar to classifieds in the real world, advertisers in Cyberspace can pay for their advertisements to be listed in online classifieds. From products and services to headhunting and matrimonial, any subject is covered.

Mailing list ads


Mailing lists are e-mails sent to group of subscribers at regular intervals focusing on a particular topic. These e-mails can contains tips, hints or even jokes for free and are sustained by advertisements that are interspersed throughout the body of the e-mail. Ads are usually in 6-8 line of text instead of graphics and animations like banner ads.

Ads on Chat
Chat is a service available on the net for two or more people to converse with one another through their keyboards. Companies that offer these chat services for free, earn their revenue from advertisements that are displayed to everyone using these chat services. So, Web marketing and e-Business, both are new concept of doing the business and are intercombined and are irreplaceable part of the cyber world.

The Government initiatives


The Government has taken key initiatives over the past few years to create an environment that is conducive to E-commerce activity. These include the following

Announcement of the Information Technology Act 2002, which put in place a cyber, law regime in the Country. Announcement of the ISP policy for the entry of private Internet service providers in November 1998 Permission to private ISPs to set up international gateways. Permission of Internet accesses through cable TV infrastructure. Initiation of the setting up of the National Internet Backbone. Announcement of the national long distance services beyond the service area to the private area.

Complete non-monopolization of undersea fiber connectivity for ISP on July 2013. Free Right of way facility with no charge in cash or kind, to access providers to lay optical fiber networks along National Highways, State Highways and other roads. Permission of Interconnectivity of Government and closed user group (CUG) networks.

The establishment of Public Teleinfo Centers (PTIC) having multimedia capabilities has been permitted.

100% FDI allowed in B2B e-commerce.

Measuring the Efficiency and Effectiveness of their Site.


What metrics should be consider when calculating the value of the Web site, or the return on investment? Lets start with performance and availability. To say that slow pages are the kiss of death doesnt take all the possibilities into account. When National Semiconductor asked its design engineer customers about the need for speed, site visitors said that anything more than eight seconds for a navigation page and 30 seconds for a data sheet was intolerable. The Advertiser should also consider the type and number of pages of their site that visitors look at during a single visit. Are more pages better?

When visitors first arrive and are investigating the depth and breadth of the offerings, more pages is good. But if they are trying to solve a problem by slogging through the quagmire of your section of "frequently asked questions" pages that are intertwined like the roots of swamp trees, more is definitely not merrier.

Looking for patterns


If the Advertiser make use of cookies to analyze the path of each visitor, then they can start to make assumptions about what people are looking for and if they had trouble finding it. The trick is to look for patterns.

The researcher, the comparison shopper and the buyer all have their own traffic patterns, and its up to you to serve them according to their needs.

If people are always clicking from the product page to the warranty page and back, its good stewardship to put the pertinent information on the product page and save them a click. Watch where they go and then do what you can to make their way easier next time. The final consideration is how often people visit your site a combination of recency and frequency. Its great that somebody came to your site 10 times in one day, but if that day was six months ago, it wont do you any good. The most desirable recency-frequency tally is different for different types of sites. If your name is Yahoo! or AOL, then you want all the people, all the time. If your Web site is located at http://www.urnsandcaskets.com, you may feel a little people who come back day after day and stay a while.

Identifying prospects
Identifying what pattern is the best indication of imminent procurement which depends upon the Review of the site path taken by those who completed the purchase and watch for it again. Your site can make special offer when a potential customer visits a certain number of times or looks at particular pages. And then you can go one step further, called Genialitys a clever software that will determine the fewest attributes common to those who performed the desired act (purchase, register, subscribe, etc.). It shifts through mountains of data about your customers so you can more quickly recognize the ones who are statistically most likely to buy, and it can tell you which offer is the one most likely to make that sale.

Taking all this into the consideration one can manage their site measurement of effectiveness.

ONLINE ADVERTISING OPERATIONAL DEFINITION

Advertising Network - A group of websites, which share a common banner server Typically, a sales organization, which manages the commerce and reporting. An ad network has the ability to deliver unique combinations of targeted audiences because they serve your banner or ad across multiple sites.

Ad view - An ad view, synonymous with ad impression, is a single ad that appears (usually in full view without scrolling) on a Web page when the page arrives at the viewers display. Ad views are what most Web sites sell or prefer to sell. A Web page may offer space for a number of ad views. In general, the term impression is more commonly used.

Affiliate marketing - Affiliate marketing is the use by a Web site that sells products of other Web sites, called affiliates, to help market the products. Amazon.com, the bookseller, created the first large-scale affiliate program and hundreds of other companies have followed since.

Bandwidth - The amount of information that can be transmitted over communications lines at one time. The higher the bandwidth, the faster the Web page loads. Limited bandwidth is the main reason for keeping pictures small. Just as it seems we will never have fast enough computers, it feels like we will never have enough bandwidth. The amount of research and development money being thrown at this problem should yield surprising results before long.

Click - According to ad industry recommended guidelines from FAST, a click is 'when a visitor interacts with an advertisement.' This does not apparently mean simple interacting with a rich media ad, but actually clicking on it so that the visitor is headed toward the advertisers destination. (It also does not mean that the visitor actually waits to fully arrive at the destination, but just that the visitor started going there).

Click streams - The electronic path a user takes while navigating from site to site, and within site, from page to page.

Click Through - The act of clicking on a banner or other ad, which takes the use through to the advertiser's Web site. Used as a counter point to impressions to judge the response-inducing power of the banner.

Click Through Rate (CTR) - The response rate of an online advertisement, typically expressed as a percentage and calculated by taking the number of click through the ad received, dividing that number by the number of impressions and multiplying by 100 to obtain a percentage Example 20 clicks / 1,000 impressions = .02 x 100 = 2% CTR CPA - Cost Per Action. The price paid by an advertiser for each 'action' that a content site delivers. 'Action' may be a sale, a lead, a successful form fill-out, a download of a software program or an e-commerce sale of a product. Both the action, price and terms of a CPA purchase are mutually agreed upon by the advertiser and content site and such a purchase typically involves a back end tracking system provided by the advertiser that allows the content site to view clicks and actions every 24 hours if they choose to do so.

CPC - Cost Per Click. The price paid by an advertiser to a content site. When buying on a Cost Per Click model, the advertiser and content site have mutually agreed that the content site will continue to display the advertisers ad creative until X number of clicks have been delivered - the amount purchased. As with other forms of online advertising, s dependent on content, audience reached and targeted delivery - Untargeted being owner priced, targeted to an affluent audience being at the high end of the rate scale.

CPM - Cost Per Thousand (Roman Numeral) impressions. The price paid by an advertiser for a content site displaying their banner 1,000 times.

CPS - Cost Per Sale. The price paid by an advertiser to a content site for each sale that results from a visitor who is referred from the content site to the advertisers site. This type of buying model is typically tracked with cookies, where the cookie is offered on the content site and read on the advertisers site at the success page after successful completion of one transaction/sale. Typical rates/bounties range between 5% and 25% of the retail price of the product or service being sold. See also CPA above.

Cookies - Client-side text file that is used by Web servers to store information about the site visitor and visitor behavior. Information pertaining to a site can only be ready the side that wrote the information. Used to identify repeat visitors and track visitor behavior.

Effective Frequency - The number of times an ad should be shown to one person to realize the highest impact of the ad without wasting impressions on that individual.

Frequency - The number of times a given person will see an ad in a given time period. Gross Exposures/Gross Impressions - The total number of times an ad is shown, including duplicate showings to the same person.

Hits - Every time a file is sent by a server, be it text, graphic, video, and so on, it is recorded as a hit. Not a reliable gauge to compare different sites, as one page with five graphic elements will register six hits when viewed, while a page with no graphics will only register one hit.

Impression - The Opportunity To See (OTS) a banner or other ad by a surfer. When a page that includes a banner is viewed, it is considered an impression. Inventory - The amount of available space for banners on a Web site that can be delivered in a given time period. Also known as the amount of gross impressions per month (or clicks if the publishers is selling on a Cost Per Click rate model) available for sale to advertisers by a Web publisher.

Link - A hypertext connection between two documents, image maps, graphics, and the like. Page view - When a Web page is requested by somebody through a browser. Page views are often used to track the number of impressions a banner gets.

Run-of-network - A run-of-network ad is one that is placed to run on all sites within a given network of sites. Ad sales firms such as Latitude90 handle run-of-network insertion orders in such a way as to optimize results for the buyer consistent with higher priority ad commitments.

Run-of-site - A run-of-site ad is one that is placed to rotate on all non-featured ad spaces on a site. CPM rates for run-of-site ads are usually less than for rates for specially-placed ads or sponsorships.

Spam - Originally posting an ad to multiple newsgroups, now used to describe unsolicited email advertising. Named after a skit by Monty Python, spam is one marketing and advertising technique to avoid at all costs

Unique visitor - A unique visitor is someone with a unique address who is entering a Web site for the first time that day (or some other specified period). Thus, a visitor that returns within the same day is not counted twice. A unique visitors count tells you how many different people there are in your audience during the time period, but not how much they used the site during the period.

View - A view is, depending on whats meant, either an ad view or a page view. Usually an ad view is whats meant. There can be multiple ad views per page views. View counting should consider that a small percentage of users choose to turn the graphics off (not display the images) in their browser.

Visit - A visit is a Web user with a unique address entering a Web site at some page for the first time that day (or for the first time in a lesser time period). The number of visits is roughly equivalent to the number of different people that visit a site. This term is ambiguous unless the user defines it, since it could mean a user session or it could mean a unique visitor that day.

ADVANTAGES OF ONLINE ADVERTISEMENT


1. Target Marketing: - A major advantage of the web is the ability to target very specific groups of individuals with a minimum of waste coverage. In the consumer market. Through personalization and other targeting techniques, sites are becoming more tailored to meet once need and want.

2. Message Tailoring: - As a result of precise targeting, messages can be designed to appeal to the specific needs and wants of the target audience. The interactive capability of the net makes it possible to carry on one-to-one marketing with increased success in both the business and the consumer markets.

3. Interactive Capabilities: - The interactive nature of the web leads to a degree of customer involvement. Site visitors are already interested enough in the company and/ or products to visit.

4. Information access: - Perhaps the greatest advantage of the Internet is its availability as an information source. Internet users can find a plethora of information about almost any topic of merely by conducting search through one of the search engines. Once they have visited a particular site, uses can garner a wealth of information regarding product specification, costs, purchase information, and so on. Links will direct them to even more information if it is desired.

5. Creativity: - Creatively design sites can enhance company's image leading to repeat visits, and positively position the company or organisation in the consumer's mind.

6. Exposure: - For many seller companies with limited budget the www (world wide web) enables them to gain exposure to potential customers that heretofore would have been impossible. For a function of the investment that would be required using traditional media, companies can gain national and even international exposure in a timely manner.

7. Speed: - For those requiring information on a company, its products, and /or its service offerings, the Internet is the quickest means of acquiring this information.

Disadvantages of Internet 1. Measurement problem: - One the greatest disadvantage of the net is the lack of reliability of the research numbers generate. A Quick review of forecasts, audience profiles, and other statistics offered by research providers will demonstrate a great deal of variance leading to a serious lack of validity and reliability. One of the industry's largest and most sited trade publication has written an expose of a heavily sited Internet research company, referring to the number it provides as "scary" feathers have stressed concern over the fact that most sites figures or not audited, which mainly to rampant cheating in the respect of the number reported. 2. Audience characteristic: - Due imparts to the accelerating growth of the net, audience characteristic change quickly. Numbers reported may be completed quickly and are often vary from one provided to the next.

3. Web Snarl: - At times, downloading information from the net takes a long time. When there are a number of users, the time increasing and some Sites may be inaccessible due to too many visitors. For many users who expect speed, this is a major disadvantage.

4. Costs: - The cost of doing business on the MAT continues to increase. While it is possible to establish a site in expensively, establishing a good side and maintaining it is becoming more and more costly. As noted earlier , Levis for the cost of maintaining a site is considered "world- Class " was prohibitive and one of the reason for abandoning its E-commerce efforts.

5. Limited production quality: - Although it is improving, net advertising does not offer the capability of many competitive media for a production standpoint. While the advent of advanced technologies and rich medium is narrowing the gap, the net still lags behind some areas.

6. Poor reach: - While the Internet numbers are growing in leaps and bounds, its six is still far behind that of television. As a result, interest companies have turned to traditional medium to achieve reach and awareness goals. In addition statistics says that only a small percentage of sites on the Internet are captured and that the top 50 sites listed account for 95 percent of the site visited.

7. Language: - If I am selling the goods through the media the buyer prefer to get the information of the products or services with his own language but the advertiser has no option than to advertise in one single language which is a major disadvantage. Given below is the comparison between Traditional and Web Advertising that will signify the importance of in today's world. Traditional Advertising

Bound by geography and location Advertisement costs are relatively high Lead times for implementation are substantial Limited interactivity exists, if at all Getting customer feedback is a painstakingly slow process Tracking the effectiveness of the Advertisement efforts is relatively Difficult Marketing efforts are restricted by time and space Traditional marketing is static Web Advertising The Web market is borderless Web Advertisement rates are relatively low Lead times are virtually non-existent Web marketing is based on high level of interactivity Customer feedback is immediate Effectiveness can be easily monitored On the internet, Advertisement can be carried out 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Web advertising is dynamic and multimedia supported 20 Traditional advertising does not invoke immediate action Advertisements are passively received Advertisements are ubiquitous Advertising does not target a focused audience Web advertising requires the user to take immediate action - like clicking on the banner ad and thus going to your site to know more of company The user has a high attention level while he is on the net. Thus advertisements get noticed, remembered, and acted upon Here, while searching for travel sites, ads related to travel agencies are displayed Advertisements are very focused. PC software can be displayed to PC users, while MAC users are not shown those ads

STATEMENT OF THE PROBLEM: Is Online advertising effective in influencing the potential Buyers? Internet is one of the important mediums that own all kinds of features, which implies a great potential and powerful advertising medium in the future. In addition, Internet has a better impact than traditional media in the features like Format Variety, Affinity, and Preservability. Furthermore, Internet is the only medium so far which owns the feature of interactivity. That creates lots of new communication opportunities and possibilities that were unable to be achieved in the past because of the limitation of media technologies. In spite of these whether the online advertisement is effective in influencing the Potential Buyers in modern era.

REVIEW OF LITRATURE Review of literature refers to identifying already existing literature in the area of consumer behavior and marketing strategies, to find out what contribution has already been made so that it can serve a valuable base for further expanding the literature. the researcher while choosing the relevant literature of this study, has taken extreme care not to omit any literature pertainin g to the effectiveness of Online advertisement The chapter revolves around the various relevant literatures screened to formulate the subject matter of the proposed study

To broaden the perspective about the research work To gain new and varied ideas To acquire more knowledge along with the direct experience To know the current issues with respect to the research area To spot the area which have not been covered

Methodology For the purpose of literature survey, a sample survey was adopted through the Structured Questionnaire, and information was gathered by those who had conducted study, The information was also searched in libraries in various reports, journals and internet sites were also scanned for the authenticities of the subject matter.

COMPANY PROFILE

COMPANY PROFILE
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GETITETOPUP

Getit etopup is a reliable mobile and other devices recharge service from Getit Infoservices Pvt. Limited. FREEADS

Getit FREEADS is an online, voice and print advertising service that provides a platform to its users to buy, sell anything.

GETITMALLS

Getit Malls is an information portal from Getit, servicing the Mallgoer in Tier 1/2/3 Indian cities.

HOTDEALS

With latest deals from across India, Hotdeals provides deals on dining, travel, health, fitness and hundreds of categories on-the-go with both email and mobile apps!

TRADEGET

Tradeget is a leading B2B Website, where one can find enormous business resources and information in the field of international trade.

GETIT APP ON MOBILE

Find information anytime, anywhere around you with the GetIt Mobile App. The app once installed in your handset auto detects your current location to deliver information to you within a certain Radius. What's more? This app is absolutely free and available on all platforms.

HOTDEAL APP ON MOBILE

The Hotdeal app is the ideal tool for you to find the deals of your choice near you. The app once installed in your mobile auto detects your location using GPS and gives you deals near you. What's more? This app is absolutely free and available on all platforms.

FREEADS APP ON MOBILE

Buy. Sell. Anything on mobile using GetIt Freeads. The app once installed in your mobile auto detects your location using GPS and gives you quick access to popular categories to help you buy / sell easier. What's more? This app is absolutely free and available on all platforms.

LOCAL SEARCH APP ON FACEBOOK

Get started with 3 Easy Steps to find local information of your need on Facebook. All you have to do is to select your city, your preferred categories, review and rate the various service providers.

FILM REVIEW APP ON FACEBOOK

The GetIt film review app is an ultimate film destination for all movie lovers! Just follow film club and get in touch with all the new, upcoming and top grossing movie releases. You can also review and rate your favorite movies here.

FREE ON ALL MAJOR PLATFORMS

CAR

Looking for new cars, pre-owned cars, accessories, dealers, mechanics, repair, car pool, buying tips or anything you wish? Your Search ends here. Join free!

FASHION

If you have a fad for fashion then you search for latest updates on the same ends here. Getit brings you an exclusive fashion community where you will find, latest fashion trends, fashion updates of celebrities, fashion blogs and much more.

FOOD

If you are a foodie and love to not just eat out but also cook up the most delicious dishes, then this is the place to be. Get it brings you a free food community which you can join and get access to information on innumerable restaurants across the country, recipes from the star chef Sanjeev Kapoor and much more.

HOME AND INTERIOR

Home is where your heart is! At Getit, we understand this and hence we have put together a community that'll help you decorate and design your home in the finest tastes. At this community, you can find guides to interior decoration, furniture, home collectibles and much more.

WEDDINGS

We understand that weddings happen once in a life time, and you will go to any extent to make it a memorable affair! Hence we bring you Getit Weddings, where you will find the perfect tools to make your wedding a gala event.

YOUNG MOMS

Bringing up a little life takes in a lot of efforts for a young mother. In our attempt to make the going a little easy for the young moms in the block we bring you Getit Young Moms an online community where thousands of moms meet, share, advice and make new friends daily.

GADGETS

If you are in love with gadgets, Getit Gadgets is the place for you to be in. Here you will find reviews of the latest gadgets in the market with an option to buy them online.

CHRISTMAS & NEW YEAR

Savoir the sweet taste of Christmas & New Year, with Getit Celebrations. Here you will find unlimited choices for your Christmas shopping along with ideas to decorate your home, a Christmas tree and yummy recipes.

VALENTINES

When love is in the air, we are there to make your loved one feel special. Check out our valentine's special website for gifts, ideas and more.

PARTNERS

ALLIANCES @ GETIT

JASPREET BINDRACEO GetIt Info services Pvt Ltd. Jaspreet is a Chemical Engineer and an MBA in International Business from Indian Institute of Foreign Trade. He has over 18 years of experience in business leadership, sales and marketing, business turnaround, and entrepreneurial startups.

KIRAN MURTHICEO GetIt Bazaar Kiran is an Electrical and Electronics Engineer from IIT Madras (1995) and an MBA specialized in Marketing and Strategy from IIM Bangalore (1999). Just 40 years old, Kiran has deep expertise in consumer marketing, brand management & new product development. Kiran has over 16 years of experience with some of India's leading companies like Philips, J & J, Cadbury's, AOL & Hindustan Times

SIDHARTH GUPTA DIRECTOR GetIt Infoservices Pvt Ltd. Sidharth has over 15 years' experience in media, publishing and online businesses, having started his career as a trainee sales executive, in the family Yellow pages business. He further trained in North America with Quebecor World Inc. & was involved with the setting-up of Tej- Quebecor Printing Ltd., India's largest directory printing facility. Sidharth, in 1996, set up FreeAds papers across India. ASTRO Astro is Malaysia's leading cross-media group with significant presence in DTH (Direct-ToHome) TV services, commercial radio and TV programming. Apart from Getit, Key Investments in India include Sun DTH, Red FM, Food Food channel and NDTV Goodtimes.

HELION

Helion Venture Partners is a venture capital firm specializing in early and mid-stage investments, based in Port Louis, Mauritius with additional offices in Bangalore, India and Gurgaon, India.

ABOUT GETIT BAZAAR

Getit Bazaar "Online Shopping Indian Style" is an effort to recreate the great Indian shopping experience online. Defined by its simple, easy to use buying process with basic Indian features, we are a bazaar with many stores from across India. Buyers can see products from multiple stores and buy their choice of product with great value offers from the store of their choice.

OUR PROPOSITION Getit Bazaar is a unique online Bazaar that brings you the flavor of authentic local shopping from across the various specialties of India. So, even if you are in Kanyakumari, we ensure that you get your fill of lovely cotton sarees from Kolkata or if you are in Kashmir, you can order yourself a Hyderadi Biriyani, right from Hyderabad. What's more? At Getit Bazaar you can even bargain just like your local markets.

INTERNATIONAL PROJECTS
Getit Transnational Private Limited is the subsidiary of Getit that manages its international operations. To kick start its ambitious growth plans Getit has embarked on a journey to expand its horizon and tap the huge potential of its products and services in South East Asia and MENA markets. Currently Getit is in discussion with Telcos in different countries to partner with them and deliver local search, Classifieds, Deals, Best Price, Getit malls , Micro Communities, GetitBazaar to their subscribers in respective countries. With this service, the consumers will be able to access these services on their mobiles using WAP, SMS, Applications, USSD and Online mediums. Malaysia is the first market where Getit shall be launching its services very soon. Getit has signed an Agreement with a Malaysian Telco to launch its services for the Malaysian market.

INFOMEDIA Infomedia is a platform that provides commercial information such as directories, publishing, printing solutions and direct marketing solutions via its B2C and B2B platforms. In other words through Infomedia we enable our consumers with local search (print, voice, online) magazine publishing and printing services. Key brands comprise Infomedia Yellow Pages, Ask Me (local search), Burpp! (city guide), Industry and Exporters trade guides. From an in-house printing unit for the Tata Group, commonly known as the Tata Press in 1966, the company made its transition to become publishing house and was renamed Tata Infomedia in 2000. In 2003, Tata marked an exit from the board and their share was bought by ICICI Venture. Post the buyout, the company was renamed Infomedia India. Network 18 Group through TV 18

acquired the controlling stake in Infomedia in December 2007 from ICICI Venture for equity value of USD 100 million and renamed the company as Infomedia18.

INFOMEDIA18 BUSINESS STRUCTURE The "Infomedia local search businesses" consists of the following: Print: Infomedia Yellow pages and All B2B and B2C directories. Online: All Online properties related to Yellow Pages and B2B/B2C directories Voice : Ask me service- All India unique numbers "04444444444", and "Askme.com"

OFFICES

REGISTERED OFFICE 8-B, 1st Floor, Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg, I.T.O., Delhi - 110 002 Fax: (011) 41509192 Email:care@getitinfomedia.com

CORPORATE OFFICE NORTHA-13, Sector-63, Noida-201 301 Tel: (0120) 4792800

CORPORATE OFFICE SOUTH5th Floor, 31 Ranka Chambers, Cunningham Road, Bengaluru - 560 052 Tel: (+91)(80) 2225 5555

KEY CONTACTS Corporate EnquiriesBhupinder Arora, Secretary to CEO bhupinder@tradeget.com Fulfillment & Customer ServiceGaurav Arora, Head CRM gaurav.arora@getitinfomedia.com

Public RelationsAjay Kumar, Assistant Manager PR & Marketing ajay.kumar@getitinfomedia.com AlliancesChetan Bhargava, Vice President, Strategic Alliances chetan.bhargava@getitinfomedia.com

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY

DEFINITION OF RESEARCH DESIGN: It is a basic plan, which guides the data collection and analysis phases of the project. It is a frame work, which specifies the type of information to be collected, the resources of data collection procedure. - Thomas Kinnear

A research design is a market plan or model for conduction a formal investigation. It is a specification of methods and procedures for acquiring the information needed for solving of any problem. Research design is the strategy for a study and the plan by which the strategy is to be carried out. It specifies the methods and procedures for the collection, measurement and analysis of data. Unfortunately, there is no simple classification of research designs that covers the variation found in practice.

Sampling Method The sampling procedure used was convenience and judgment sampling, as in questionnaire were administered at places like the residents, cyber center, Office and colleges in Kanpur .

Tools for data collection Interaction with Respondents was in the form of face-to-face interviews and with the help of questionnaire. The questionnaire consisted of a set of questions, asked to the respondent for his/her response, the questionnaire was structured and non-disguised. It was done in a

prearranged order and the object of the research was revealed to the respondent. The questionnaire consisted of combination of open ended and close-ended question.

Primary Data The primary data was generated through extensive use of a structured questionnaire, which had both the open end and close-ended questions. They were conducted in Kanpur and the data collected was used for the purpose of analysis and interpretation.

Secondary Data The second data was collected from the following sources: Books Magazines Website Journals (Details are given in the Literature Review at the Report)

Sample Size A total of hundred respondents were interviewed during the survey, The input from these respondents which was collected in Kanpur formed the primary data for the study.

DATA PROCESSING Collected data was Analyzed and tabulated with the help of MS Excel and then they have been presented in the tables and Graphs in this report. These are the basis for drawing the appropriate conclusion for this project.

Areas Covered Kidwai Nagar Kakdev Mall road Kainal Road

FINDINGS

FINDINGS
This study was conducted with a view to know that whether Online Advertising is effective. It has been observed that there are many factors, which effect this statement of Problem like Occupation, Age, life style social factor, For this purpose a structured questionnaire had been designed and analysed. After analyzing the data the following factors have been found out as major causes for the Online Ads Effectiveness

The percentage of Male browsing the net are more than that of Female Most of the internet users are in the age group of 20-30years with 35% which indicates that youngsters are using more net than that of the other community.

Most of the student community use internet more than that of the other occupation as it is a means of entertainment so the advertiser should target the student community to influence their effectiveness

Compared to that of the students self-employed business people browse more for purchasing products and students browse more for information and entertainment.

Almost 60% of the people who browse the Net check t online Ads while browsing only if they are interesting and informative

The study clearly stated that most of the internet users surf for entertainment and information rather than for purchasing on the Net Internet with such high penetration still 53% of the respondents have not purchased any products or services online

Most of the respondents who have purchased online have not involved themselves in purchasing frequently and even the cost of the purchase is also too low where it do not involve much risk. .

RECOMMENDATIONS & SUGGESTION

RECOMMENDATIONS & SUGGESTION

Go International with multiple language: Offer your web site in multiple languages. Like many sites come in Dutch, Spanish, Slovene, French, Czech, German, Russian, and Italian. Translation service on websites is also good which will help retain customers.

Use of multi-media As we have seen the potential for banner and Internet ads, informative and creative ads are also preferred therefore hot new designs and innovative sales concepts should be developed. Obviously, the biggest bridge to cross is download time. If a little radio-like audio message that plays from your site upon a click of mouse or a T.V-mini commercial that plays at your banner on click of a mouse, it will be much more effective and interesting.

Use Banner Ads that Give Viewers Chance to Interact with Banners Interactive banner designs can be used wherein the client can print out a product sheet from the banner itself, order a product through a secured order form on the banner itself, click which button he prefer and be directed to a specialized product marketing page.

Free offers The word free is just as effective in advertising online as it is offline. By sponsoring a freebie, a simple name submission drawing can also get viewers to go through ads in the process they become aware of the advertisement.

Sponsor a contest People love to win ANYTHING! Offer your product or service as a prize. When a winner is selected, their name web address and a link to the site can be published. Adding a reciprocal link is a professional way to say thank you and is of no cost to the advertiser.

Web site testimonials Build trust or confidence in your online business by using testimonials. A direct quote with the permission of the customer is a nice touch. Listing a name and e-mail address it acts as a reference that is easy and quick. Keep the testimonials to one or two sentences and keep it simple.

Target Audience Keep your target audience in mind. Business people aren't going to have the time or inclination to participate in game-type ads. On the other hand, teenagers love them. If your target group is younger people, games might be the thing for you. Design your ad to meet the preferences of your target customer.

Include statistics When you make a sales claim, back it up with information, including statistics. You might say, "Our saucepans have a non-stick coating that's guaranteed for life. In actual, in-home testing, food did not stick to our saucepans 98.3% of the time."

Provide content on your site As you surf the Web take note of information that supports your advertising claims. Surveys, research, reports, testimonials, etc. can all provide valuable information that could move a customer from the point-ofdecision to the point- of-purchase.

Offer a free report Give away information free with a purchase or subscription to your newsletter. Since information is what surfers are looking to receive, it will work as a big incentive.

Few tips that will help in making a connection with the clients:

1. Use you or your instead of we or us.

2. Include personal examples rather than general examples. If writing to hair stylists, include examples specific to them.

3. Know your target audience very well. This is the only way you will be able to communicate with them on a personal level.

4. Write using the language of your target audience. Include industry buzzwords and jargon when appropriate.

Customers will feel an attraction to copy that reaches out specifically to them. In a world where most advertisers are speaking to the masses, be sure to give yours an advantage by speaking personally to those you wish to do business with.

CONCLUSION

CONCLUSION

Is Advertising on the Internet a viable option? I have looked at this question in terms of effectiveness, profitability, and marketing methods. Internet advertising offers increased awareness of companies, an easy method to distribute information, advanced methods of targeting consumers, an immediate and direct line to the customers, and reduced costs in performing these tasks.

The only negative aspect is that consumers have to conquer their fears of the Internet - the fear that ordering through an on-line advertisement will get lost in the void of cyberspace. Fears always come with new technology, but it does not take long for people to adjust. As people get more accustomed to finding their product information on the Web, more and more readers will actively seek out Internet advertising sites. Final y Donot try to do "anything and everything" to get the buyer'sattention. Everyone who comes to site isn't going to buy. The harder you try to get their attention and force them to read your ads, the harder they wil try to escape.

LIMITATIONS OF THE STUDY

LIMITATIONS OF THE STUDY

1. The sample size is limited to 100 Internet users hence the result of the study cannot be taken as universal. 2. Findings of the survey are based on the assumption that the respondents have given correct information. 3. Since the respondents had to fill the questionnaire while busy with their hectic schedule, many people were reluctant to answer. 4. The study was conducted only in Kanpur and therefore, several other potential samples outside the city were neglected

QUESTIONNAIRE

QUESTIONNAIRE

NAME Gender: Male Female

1. AGE GROUP Below 20 25-30 20-25 above 30

2. Occupation Student Employee Self Employed Others

3. Do you Own a computer Yes No

4. Do you Surf the net Yes No

5. How many hours do you Spend on Browsing < 1hr > 1hr 6. Are you aware of Online Advertisement Yes No 1hr

7. Do you check the online Ads while browsing Yes No

8. Ads relating to which product are you interested in Purchasing Financial loans Academic Entertainment Jobs Others

9. Which Sites consist of more ads Yahoo India times msn 12. Have you purchased Online Yes No Rediff Sify Other

14. If yes, what have you purchased (go to Q 17) ___________________ ___________________ ______________________ ______________________

15. If no, would you prefer to purchase Online Yes No

16. If no, why dont you prefer to purchase online

17. How often do you purchase online.

18. What kind of Ads do you like to see

One that pop ups One that flashes

One which has a questionnaire One that runs on the top/bottom

19. Have you responded/participated in any Ads Yes No

20. Does the Online Ads interfere in your work while browsing Yes No

21. Have you made any purchases after seeing these Ads Yes No

22. How you think the online Ads can be improved ___________________________________________ ___________________________________________ _____________________________________________ Thanks

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