The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree

Acciones de libros

Comenzar a leer

Información del libro

The Enlightenment of the Greengage Tree

Calificaciones:
Calificar: 4 de 5 estrellas4/5 (14 calificaciones)
Longitud: 268 página4 horas

Nota del editor

Booker nominee…
Shokoofeh Azar’s novel is nominated for the 2020 International Booker Prize. The judges said it’s “A wild, humorous revisitation of Persian myths and fables, filled with brutal scenes of contemporary life. A ghostly portrait of a family caught in the abject violence of political unrest.”

Descripción

KEY SELLING POINTS

• Setting: Iran, 1970s, 1980s

• SHORTLISTED for the 2018 Stella Prize + 2018 Queensland University Fiction Award

• The moving voice of the young (dead) narrator keeps this harrowing story from being too dark, however tragic the story elements are. It is moving, emotional, and heartbreaking at times, but the narrative voice makes the heartbreak worthwhile

• Simultaneously a modern yet mythical retelling of the Iranian Revolution, draws stylistically from Persian storytelling traditions

• A window into Islamic revolution and geopolitics in the Islamic world

• Narrated by a 13-year-old Iranian girl

• Book was originally written and translated from Farsi

• Injustices: the regime orders book burnings, the destruction of ancient Persian cultural artifacts, and arbitrary arrests and executions without trial

• For readers of Europa’s Disoriental by Négar Djavadi

Marketing & Publicity

• Interview with author available at Los Angeles Review of Books

• Pitching to O, The Oprah Magazine

• Women in translation reviewers

• PEN America

• Words Without Borders

• Bookseller blurbs

• Indie Next List campaign

• Amazon editorial

• Preorder campaign

• Women’s History Month + Women in Translation Month promotion

• Academic marketing (inclusion at academic conferences + AWP)

• Egalleys available on Net Galley & Edelweiss

• Galleys available

Leer más