Encuentra tu próximo/a libro favorito/a

Conviértase en miembro hoy y lea gratis durante 30 días
JR: The Chronicles of New York City

JR: The Chronicles of New York City

Leer la vista previa

JR: The Chronicles of New York City

valoraciones:
5/5 (1 clasificación)
Longitud:
170 página
1 hora
Publicado:
Dec 17, 2019
ISBN:
9781797200682
Formato:
Libro

Nota del editor

Editor's pick…

If you love art, or people, or New York, check this out! JR, an artist known for larger-than-life public art installations, asked everyday New Yorkers to choose a pose in action for these stunning photos. The art and accompanying interviews create a fascinating glimpse into the commonality we all share regarding how we place ourselves in space.

Descripción

TED Prize winner, Oscar nominee, and one of Time's 100 most influential people of 2018, JR is a contemporary art superstar.

In 2018, over one thousand New Yorkers posed for the camera and told their stories at JR's mobile photo studio and JR compiled their portraits into an astounding photographic mural—a portrait of the city—for the Brooklyn Museum.

This book features both the final mural and every individual photo, as well as a selection of compelling stories and a behind-the-scenes look at how this incredible work was made.

• This art piece captures the essence of an iconic city in words and images
• Includes a removable poster that showcases the entire mural
• Features a foreword by Darren Walker and an artist's statement
• Beautiful on the coffee table or in a photo book collection

Fans of Humans of New York, Jason Polan's Every Person in New York, and Banksy's Wall and Piece will love this book.

This book is perfect for:
• Fans of the artist JR
• Anyone who loves New York City
• Photographers, both established and aspiring
• Lovers of contemporary art, black and white photography, and site-specific art projects
Publicado:
Dec 17, 2019
ISBN:
9781797200682
Formato:
Libro

Sobre el autor

JR is a celebrated artist whose oversize black-and-white portraits adorn walls, streets, and rooftops around the world. He lives in Paris and New York.

Relacionado con JR

Libros relacionados
Artículos relacionados

Vista previa del libro

JR - JR

Text by Anne Pasternak and Darren Walker copyright © 2019 Chronicle Books LLC.

Map on page 19 copyright © 2019 Chronicle Books LLC.

All other text and images copyright © 2019 by JR.

All rights reserved. No part of this book may be reproduced in any form without written permission from the publisher.

Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data available.

ISBN: 978-1-7972-0068-2 (epub, mobi)

ISBN: 978-1-4521-8492-0 (hardcover)

Design by Danielle Youngsmith.

Chronicle books and gifts are available at special quantity discounts to corporations, professional associations, literacy programs, and other organizations.

For details and discount information, please contact our premiums department at corporatesales@chroniclebooks.com or at 1-800-759-0190.

Chronicle Books LLC

680 Second Street

San Francisco, California 94107

www.chroniclebooks.com

CONTENTS

JR LOVES PEOPLE BY ANNE PASTERNAK 6

CAPTURING THE WONDER OF NEW YORK BY DARREN WALKER 8

INTRODUCTION BY JR 11

A LOOK BEHIND THE SCENES 12

PHOTO LOCATIONS 18

THE MURAL 19

THE PORTRAITS AND INTERVIEWS 20

juanita jones 22

daniel sanders 23

derrick boler 24

giash ahmed 25

ramon correa 28

robert bayron 31

christopher tineo 32

vivian negron 35

karen johnson 36

hanna han-josiah 39

gaitree jugdeo and linda jugdeo 40

sara arno 43

alex corporan 44

avril guerrero 46

jon boogs 47

rafe scobey-thal 48

floyd harden 50

amy wilson 51

shoshana guy 52

nile harris 55

john pullos 56

jinghan zhang 59

lijuan jenny he 60

donny guercin 61

chris nobloxs 63

tara cole 64

sandra decroti 65

boluwaji adelabu 67

lynn nacmias 68

dua snowden 69

drewe cupid 71

wanda nieves 73

jon viktor corpuz 74

richard brown 76

emilie schwenk 80

edythe hughes 81

briene lermitte 82

danny gonzalez 85

renard s. collins 86

philip sylvester 87

kenny scoby 88

garrette gordon 90

tylo carter 91

leslie camhi 92

yann ledoux 94

zach mangan and minami mangan 95

cleo berliner 96

art spiegelman and françoise mouly 99

vincent cassel and tina kunakey 100

drew sawyer 103

wander saldana 104

james magenst 105

kate lupo 107

destiny bello 108

vaishvi shah 111

brandon crowe and casper crowe 113

wambui wainaina and adam simon 116

stéphanie de rouge 118

katie osterloh 121

alan mccutchan 122

siyong yoon (pictured with jiseon han) 125

marissa mullen 126

hamida priya and arham raj 130

mazdack rassi 132

scott thode 133

layan elwazani 134

adam kantor 135

bill army 138

oliver jeffers 140

richie notar 143

marivaldo dos santos 144

rebecca evans 147

alon sicherman 148

frank davi 151

isabel adler 153

ACKNOWLEDGMENTS 157

CREDITS 158

photo credits 158

THE AUTHORS 160

by anne pasternak

shelby white and leon levy director

of the brooklyn museum

JR LOVES PEOPLE

For years I pleaded with the TED staff to give its prestigious annual prize to an artist. My pleading bordered on pushy, even obnoxious. But I had long admired the conference’s mission to do good in the world and was in awe of its mind-blowing reach to millions of online followers, and I believed TED could play an important role in amplifying art and artists that shared the company’s commitment to progressing the social good. I wanted the world to know that contemporary artists around the world were stretching conventions about what art is and could be by working with community leaders, legislators, and even politicians to make tangible change around the globe. These were artists who weren’t just pointing to problems; they were working hard to solve them in fresh and creative ways. And who better than TED to get that message across?

My persistence over the years was received with grace and openness by the TED team. Then, in early 2011, I got the call saying that TED’s leader, Chris Anderson, had agreed that an artist would receive the prize that year. I was thrilled and didn’t waste a moment to nominate a few of my favorite artists working at the intersection of art and social change.

I couldn’t wait to see who would win, and I was hopeful I’d soon see one of my nominees on stage that March. But when Chris Anderson introduced the winner, I was stunned.

JR? Who is he? How could the TED team pick an artist I had never heard of?

I confess, I was enraged. I thought the TED team had blown it.

How wrong I was . . .

Within minutes, JR’s ease, grace, humility, and humor on the TED stage began to crack my emotional armor. I listened as he described tagging buildings in Paris as a teenager and finding an old camera, which opened a new chapter in his life as a fledgling artist. Soon he was documenting his friends’ adventures as they tagged buildings across the city. Then he began gluing photocopies of his images on public

Has llegado al final de esta vista previa. ¡Regístrate para leer más!
Página 1 de 1

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre JR

5.0
1 valoraciones / 0 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores