Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
A Thousand Questions

A Thousand Questions

Escrito por Saadia Faruqi

Narrado por Gail Shalan y Reena Dutt


A Thousand Questions

Escrito por Saadia Faruqi

Narrado por Gail Shalan y Reena Dutt

valoraciones:
4.5/5 (6 valoraciones)
Longitud:
7 horas
Editorial:
Publicado:
Oct 6, 2020
ISBN:
9780063028173
Formato:
Audiolibro

Descripción

Set against the backdrop of Karachi, Pakistan, Saadia Faruqi’s tender and honest middle grade novel tells the story of two girls navigating a summer of change and family upheaval with kind hearts, big dreams, and all the right questions.

Mimi is not thrilled to be spending her summer in Karachi, Pakistan, with grandparents she’s never met. Secretly, she wishes to find her long-absent father, and plans to write to him in her beautiful new journal.

The cook’s daughter, Sakina, still hasn’t told her parents that she’ll be accepted to school only if she can improve her English test score—but then, how could her family possibly afford to lose the money she earns working with her Abba in a rich family’s kitchen?

Although the girls seem totally incompatible at first, as the summer goes on, Sakina and Mimi realize that they have plenty in common—and that they each need the other to get what they want most. 

This relatable and empathetic story about two friends coming to understand each other will resonate with readers who loved Other Words for Home and Front Desk

Supplemental enhancement PDF accompanies the audiobook.

Editorial:
Publicado:
Oct 6, 2020
ISBN:
9780063028173
Formato:
Audiolibro


Sobre el autor

Saadia Faruqi is a Pakistani American author, essayist and interfaith activist. She is the author, with Laura Shovan, of A Place at the Table, a Sydney Taylor Notable Book. Her book Meet Yasmin!, the first book in an early reader series about a Pakistani-American girl, received starred reviews, and she is also author of the adult fiction book Brick Walls: Tales of Hope & Courage from Pakistan. She lives with her husband and children in Houston, Texas, where she is editor-in-chief of Blue Minaret, a magazine for Muslim art, poetry, and prose.

Relacionado con A Thousand Questions

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre A Thousand Questions

4.5
6 valoraciones / 2 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (4/5)
    Really great story about family, friend and life and the cultural
  • (5/5)
    This is so brautiful. I love Mimi and Sakina friendship so much. A Thousand Questions is a bit complicated and contains heavy theme (political issues, different class, poverty) for middle grade, but I love the way Saadia writes it.