Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
The Roxy Letters: A Novel

The Roxy Letters: A Novel


The Roxy Letters: A Novel

valoraciones:
4/5 (92 valoraciones)
Longitud:
9 horas
Publicado:
Apr 7, 2020
ISBN:
9781797101262
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Descripción

Meet Roxy. For fans of Where'd You Go, Bernadette and Bridget Jones's Diary comes "just the kind of comic novel we need right now" (The Washington Post) about an Austin artist trying to figure out her life one letter to her ex-boyfriend at a time.

Bridget Jones penned a diary; Roxy writes letters. Specifically: she writes letters to her hapless, rent-avoidant ex-boyfriend—and current roommate—Everett. This charming and funny twenty-something is under-employed (and under-romanced), and she's decidedly fed up with the indignities she endures as a deli maid at Whole Foods (the original), and the dismaying speed at which her beloved Austin is becoming corporatized. When a new Lululemon pops up at the intersection of Sixth and Lamar where the old Waterloo Video used to be, Roxy can stay silent no longer.

As her letters to Everett become less about overdue rent and more about the state of her life, Roxy realizes she's ready to be the heroine of her own story. She decides to team up with her two best friends to save Austin—and rescue Roxy's love life—in whatever way they can. But can this spunky, unforgettable millennial keep Austin weird, avoid arrest, and find romance—and even creative inspiration—in the process?

Publicado:
Apr 7, 2020
ISBN:
9781797101262
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Sobre el autor

Mary Pauline Lowry is a native of Austin, Texas. She received her MFA from Boise State University. The author of the novels The Roxy Letters and Wildfire, she’s also a regular contributor to O, The Oprah Magazine. Her work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The New York Times, The Millions, and other publications.


Relacionado con The Roxy Letters

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre The Roxy Letters

3.9
92 valoraciones / 11 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (3/5)
    I liked the story and the way it was presented (the journal type), but Roxy was unlikable!. From her getting mad about the first boyfriend for wanting kids to her blaming another one for wanting her, but having kids!
    The whole story felt like it was made from little stories that had continuity whenever it pleased her. The plot was just all over.
  • (5/5)
    Sometimes sad but mostly funny. Foxy is a hoot. Ok
  • (5/5)
    The writing style is humorous, witty, edgy, and lighthearted. I immensely enjoyed listening to this book and think it would appeal to readers who want an uplifting and quirky read about a struggling artist living in Austin, Texas working at the deli in Whole Foods to make ends meet. There's endearing bits of animal rights activism, veganism, art, sex, and romance.
  • (4/5)
    Readers seeking a light-hearted, farcical foray into twenty-something directionless misadventure will find much to enjoy in Mary Pauline Lowry’s epistolary novel, The Roxy Letters. The book consists of a series of one-way notes and letters between the eponymous main character and her ex-boyfriend, Everett. As the book opens, Roxy is reluctantly housing her ex as a temporary tenant to subsidize her meager income as a deli worker at Whole Foods. What begins as an effort to communicate some basic house rules morphs into more of a personal diary that delineates Roxy’s various escapades. An aspiring artist stuck in her own slacker mentality, Roxy’s insecurity and lack of motivation about her identity and future shines through in her writing. When she decides to embark on a crusade to protest the gentrification of Austin (epitomized by the opening of a Lululemon store in her neighborhood), she meets an interesting new friend who inspires her to take more risks in life and love. The Roxy Letters wants to be a more risqué and Americanized version of Bridget Jones’ Diary, and it somewhat succeeds in eliciting the same frantic, cringy tone. The form of the novel becomes a bit cumbersome and forced as the book goes on, however, and it becomes awkward and too expositional. The reader is expected to be tolerant of some extremely far-fetched and contrived scenarios and the repetitious discussion of sexual topics become excessive and tiresome. Lowry does a good job poking fun of young adulthood and the entitlement of progressive liberalism in the 2010s, and The Roxy Letters is certainly a fun read. The conclusion brings all the characters together in a chorus with a well-wrapped happy ending that is a refreshing change from the typical angst seen in some contemporary novels that take themselves too seriously. This book would appeal to fans of romantic and slapstick comedies who don’t mind some explicit sexual content and are prepared to endure some harmlessly unbelievable plotlines.Thanks to the author, Simon & Schuster and Edelweiss Plus for an advance copy of this book in exchange for an unbiased review.
  • (3/5)
    "The Roxy Letters" is indeed written in epistolary format (meaning it is like a series of letters). I found Roxy to be hilarious and quirky. I enjoyed the format of the book, since the letters were just long enough to be interesting and short enough to keep the plot moving forward. Readers are advised that this book contains profanity and sexual innuendoes and situations. I received this book from the publisher and from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. The opinions expressed here are entirely my own.
  • (5/5)
    I absolutely loved this book! Roxy was such a fun character, and the friend that we all have but we never quite know what they are up to! If you want a quirky book that will make you legitimately laugh out loud and just feel good overall, this is the book for you!
  • (4/5)
    It was pretty good. Alot of oh my Venus but I liked it
  • (5/5)
    So so funny, endearing, and just plain old good! Bought this hardcover book for 2 friends
  • (1/5)

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

    This was stupid. I didn't make it an hour before I deleted it.

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

  • (4/5)

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

    Dear Everett, I encourage anyone that gets their hands on this “diary” upon its April 7th release, to refrain from consuming food/drink or placing themselves in a quiet setting while reading. While this is not a suggested read for those easily offended by colorful language, it IS a total laugh fest for those that don’t mind it at all. Humor aside, one will find that within these pages is a story of finding ones place in the world, friendships, the many facets of love, mental health awareness, and ultimately the biggest lesson of all…that everyone deserves a chance. Whether you are a wiener dog lover, whole foods consumer, Lulu lemon wearer, Venus worshiper or anything in between, I can promise that you will fall in love with me. Happily, Roxyp.s. I really should not be compared to Bridget Jones or Bernadette…..I am so much better.

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

  • (3/5)

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

    The lead character is immensely unlikeable for some reason and refuses to take responsibility for any of her poor choices. The saving grace is the style of writing and some of the side characters like Artemis and the ex boyfriend Everett, who add some much needed pizazz. It is a good light read category book that doesn't take itself too seriously, so I would say it's like a palette cleanser after reading heavier and intense books.

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona