Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
From the Desk of Zoe Washington

From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Escrito por Janae Marks

Narrado por Bahni Turpin


From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Escrito por Janae Marks

Narrado por Bahni Turpin

valoraciones:
4.5/5 (51 valoraciones)
Longitud:
6 horas
Editorial:
Publicado:
Jan 14, 2020
ISBN:
9780062969279
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Descripción

From debut author Janae Marks comes a captivating mystery full of heart, as one courageous girl questions assumptions, searches for the truth, and does what she believes is right — even in the face of great opposition. A perfect audiobook for fans of Front Desk and All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook!

Zoe Washington isn’t sure what to write. What does a girl say to the father she’s never met, hadn’t heard from until his letter arrived on her 12th birthday, and who’s been in prison for a terrible crime?

A crime he says he never committed.

Could Marcus really be innocent? Zoe is determined to uncover the truth. Even if it means hiding his letters and her investigation from the rest of her family. Everyone else thinks Zoe’s worrying about doing a good job at her bakery internship and proving to her parents that she’s worthy of auditioning for Food Network’s Kids Bake Challenge.

But with bakery confections on one part of her mind, and Marcus’s conviction weighing heavily on the other, this is one recipe Zoe doesn’t know how to balance. The only thing she knows to be true: Everyone lies.

Editorial:
Publicado:
Jan 14, 2020
ISBN:
9780062969279
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro


Sobre el autor

Janae Marks graduated from the New School with an MFA in writing for children. When she isn’t writing fiction, she’s spending time with her husband and daughter at home in Connecticut. From the Desk of Zoe Washington is her debut novel. Visit Janae online at www.janaemarks.com.

Relacionado con From the Desk of Zoe Washington

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre From the Desk of Zoe Washington

4.5
51 valoraciones / 4 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (4/5)
    I really love this book. I love how that call it kids baking show
  • (5/5)
    The story is a bit unrealistic but nevertheless I enjoyed every word. Here fairy tales do come true. 12 year old Zoe is a remarkable 12 year old. She knows what she wants and goes after it head long! On her 12th birthday, she receives a surprising piece of mail postmarked from a prison.It is from her incarcerated father, (Marcus), whom she’s never met. He was sent to prison for murder just before Zoe was born. And as you may guess her mother wants her to have nothing to do with him. Zoe has two goals... one is to prove her father’s innocence and two, as an aspiring pastry chef, she sets her sights on perfecting her baking skills. She plans to audition as a contestant on Food Network’s Kids Bake Challenge. After receiving the letter from her father, Zoe does something she has never done before, she begins Withholding the truth from her mother in order to correspond with her biological father. As it always does, and one lie leads to another and another. In the letters Marcus shares his favorite songs and encourages Zoe’s baking-competition dreams. “He seems really nice!” Then, when Marcus proclaims he is innocent, Zoe is shocked: How could someone who is innocent end up in prison? This was a realistic reaction for a 12 year old. Somehow Zoe has convinced her grandmother, (her mother’s mother), to help carry on the secret correspondence with her father. She even arranges phone communication between Zoe and Marcus. As Zoe’s enlightenment begins, she learns about systemic racism and how black people like her and Marcus are more likely to be wrongfully convicted of murder than white people. There are some well developed and powerful relationships among all the characters: Zoe, her mother, her step dad, grandma, Marcus, and best friend Trevor.This debut novel is extraordinary, timely, and a must-read story about love, family, friendship, and justice. (Fiction. 8-12)
  • (5/5)
    This book is an awesome amazing book it had writing and cooking which both things I really like I hope other people also like it
  • (4/5)
    A touching story on a topic not often explored in children's lit. Zoe has a great voice. She makes mistakes, but learns from them. And she fights for justice with admirable fervor.