Encuentre sus próximos favoritos audiobook

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 díasComience los 30 días gratis
Riots I Have Known: A Novel

Acciones del libro

Comenzar a escuchar

Información sobre el libro

Riots I Have Known: A Novel

Escrito por Ryan Chapman

Narrado por Vikas Adam

Clasificaciones:
Calificar: 3 de 5 estrellas3/5 (5 calificaciones)
Longitud: 4 horas

Descripción

Riots I Have Known, the short, electric, uproarious, and biting debut novel by Ryan Chapman is a real-time confession, set during a prison riot, in a high-comic pitch, a voice-driven narrative in the tradition of Paul Beatty’s The Sellout and Aravind Adiga’s The White Tiger.

It is present-day Dutchess County, New York, where an unnamed Sri Lankan inmate has barricaded himself inside a computer lab while a riot rages outside, incited by an article published in the prison’s literary journal, The Holding Pen. As he awaits imminent interruption by the growing crowd of guards, prisoners, and news crews on the other side of the doors, he takes us on a confessional roller coaster of plot and language, exploring not only his life in and out of the clink, but also asking himself the important questions: How did an enterprising Sinhalese end up here? Should he have remained a quiet Park Avenue doorman? Are his beloved few possessions safe in E Block? What will become of The Holding Pen, a “masterpiece of post-penal literature” favored by Brooklynites everywhere? Meanwhile, he reveals how his actions have inadvertently led to the chaos around him.

Smart, wry, and laugh-out-loud funny, Ryan Chapman’s Riots I Have Known is an utter gem of contemporary social satire — an approachable and accessible send-up that packs a punch.

Leer más