Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
A Wolf Called Wander

A Wolf Called Wander


A Wolf Called Wander

valoraciones:
4.5/5 (35 valoraciones)
Longitud:
3 horas
Editorial:
Publicado:
May 7, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911452
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Descripción

This gripping novel about survival and family is based on the real story of one wolf’s incredible journey to find a safe place to call home. This irresistible tale by award-winning author Rosanne Parry is for fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Pax and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan.

Swift, a young wolf cub, lives with his pack in the mountains learning to hunt, competing with his brothers and sisters for hierarchy, and watching over a new litter of cubs. Then a rival pack attacks, and Swift and his family scatter.

Alone and scared, Swift must flee and find a new home. His journey takes him a remarkable 1,000 miles across the Pacific Northwest. The trip is full of peril, and Swift encounters forest fires, hunters, highways, and hunger before he finds his new home.

Inspired by the extraordinary true story of a wolf named OR-7 (or Journey), this irresistible tale of survival invites listeners to experience and imagine what it would be like to be one of the most misunderstood animals on earth. This gripping and appealing novel about family, courage, loyalty, and the natural world is for fans of Fred Gipson’s Old Yeller and Katherine Applegate’s Endling.

Includes information about the real wolf who inspired the novel.

Editorial:
Publicado:
May 7, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911452
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Sobre el autor

Rosanne Parry is the author of the novels Heart of a Shepherd and Last of the Name, among other acclaimed titles. She lives with her family in an old farmhouse in Portland, Oregon, and writes in a tree house in her backyard. www.rosanneparry.com


Relacionado con A Wolf Called Wander

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre A Wolf Called Wander

4.6
35 valoraciones / 5 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (5/5)
    “My favorite part is where he gets lost. I liked that we got to learn about wolves, and their life.”-6 year old Finlee
  • (5/5)
    great story realy sucks you in happy ending great start it sucks you in at the begining
  • (5/5)
    I purchased this book because I love the author and wolves. Parry writes well through the eyes of the wolf, which isn't easy. A great story for calling attention to the mistreatment of wolves and habitat, and to show how family-oriented they are. Lots of factual back matter: The Real Wolf Behind the Story; a map of OR-7's Journey; About Wolves; The Habitats of the Pacific Northwest; Author's Note; Resources for Young Readers; General Resources.
  • (4/5)
    Born into the darkness of his den, the wolf pup Swift first understands the world through smell. One of five cubs, he is named for his eagerness to explore, and the swiftness of his development and movement. Soon initiated into the life of the pack, he comes to love everything about his home in the mountains. But when his family is attacked and scattered by a rival pack of wolves intent on securing the mountain for their own, Swift finds himself embarking on an epic journey, and struggling to survive as he moves from place to place in search of a new home and a new family. But will this wandering wolf ever find what he seeks...?Beautifully written, with moments of both humor and pathos, A Wolf Called Wander was inspired by the story of a real wolf - OR-7 - who lived in Oregon's Wallowa Mountains and was tagged by biologists. In 2011 they tracked his 1000-mile journey to find a new pack. This was my first book from Rosanne Parry, an author living in Oregon, and I really enjoyed her writing. The exchanges between Swift and his father were quite humorous, and the relationship between Swift and Warm charming. Warm's death midway through the book was absolutely heartbreaking. I appreciated the fact that Parry didn't sugarcoat what life in the wild is like - as Swift learns, everything either eats or is eaten, at some point - but that she also captured the beauty of nature and the occasional possibilities of coexistence and help, between species. This latter was evident in Swift's relationship with his raven, and in the moment when he warns a horse herd of an imminent cougar attack. I enjoy animal fiction that manages to convince me it is from the animal's own realistic perspective, and this definitely fit the bill. It also had lovely artwork from Mónica Armiño. A delightful book, engaging and poignant, this is one I would recommend to young animal lovers, with the proviso that they be aware that there are some disturbing scenes.
  • (5/5)

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona

    This is book is an awesome book. I loved the way Wander never gives up and in the end, after many sacrifices, his life is now better.

    Esto le resultó útil a 1 persona