Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
Lalani of the Distant Sea

Lalani of the Distant Sea

Escrito por Erin Entrada Kelly

Narrado por Lulu Lam


Lalani of the Distant Sea

Escrito por Erin Entrada Kelly

Narrado por Lulu Lam

valoraciones:
4/5 (6 valoraciones)
Longitud:
6 horas
Editorial:
Publicado:
Sep 3, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911179
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Descripción

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is a gorgeous, literary adventure about bravery, friendship, self-reliance, and the choice between accepting fate or forging your own path.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls ill with an incurable disease, Lalani embarks on a dangerous journey across the sea in the hope of safeguarding her own future. Inspired by Filipino folklore, this engrossing fantasy is for listeners who loved Grace Lin’s Where the Mountain Meets the Moon and Disney’s Moana.

Life is difficult on the island of Sanlagita. To the west looms a vengeful mountain, one that threatens to collapse and bury the village at any moment. To the north, a dangerous fog swallows sailors who dare to venture out, looking for a more hospitable land. And what does the future hold for young girls? Chores and more chores.

When Lalani Sarita’s mother falls gravely ill, 12-year-old Lalani faces an impossible task — she must leave Sanlagita and find the riches of the legendary Mount Isa, which towers on an island to the north. But generations of men and boys have died on the same quest — how can an ordinary girl survive the epic tests of the archipelago? And how will she manage without Veyda, her best friend?

Newbery Medalist and New York Times best-selling author Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut fantasy novel is inspired by Filipino folklore and is an unforgettable coming-of-age story about friendship, courage, and identity.

Perfect for fans of Lauren Wolk’s Beyond the Bright Sea and Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon.

Editorial:
Publicado:
Sep 3, 2019
ISBN:
9780062911179
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro


Sobre el autor

New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly was awarded the Newbery Medal for Hello, Universe and a Newbery Honor for We Dream of Space. She grew up in Lake Charles, Louisiana, and now lives in Delaware. She is a professor of children’s literature in the graduate fiction and publishing programs at Rosemont College, where she earned her MFA, and is on the faculty at Hamline University. Her short fiction has been nominated for the Philippines Free Press Literary Award for Short Fiction and the Pushcart Prize. Erin Entrada Kelly’s debut novel, Blackbird Fly, was a Kirkus Best Book, a School Library Journal Best Book, an ALSC Notable Book, and an Asian/Pacific American Literature Honor Book. She is also the author of The Land of Forgotten Girls, winner of the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature; You Go First, a Spring 2018 Indie Next Pick; Lalani of the Distant Sea, an Indie Next Pick; and Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey, which she also illustrated. The author’s mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines, and she now lives in Cebu.

Relacionado con Lalani of the Distant Sea

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre Lalani of the Distant Sea

4.0
6 valoraciones / 2 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (5/5)
    Unlike anything I've ever read. So imaginative, I loved it. Also absolutely a shout-out to everyone behind the audiobook, which was incredibly well-done and really fitted the tone of the book.
  • (4/5)
    Lalani lives in a village on a tropical island named Sanlagita. The island has Mount Kahna where a beast is said to live. The villagers don’t dare climb the mountain and say daily benedictions to the mountain. Across the water the island of Isa is a promised land of sorts; if only they could get there they could bring back riches. But no Sanlagitan sailors have ever survived the trip to Isa. Lalani actually meets the beast of Mount Kahna who grants her wish for rain. But when the rain doesn't stop, Lalani decides to sail alone to Isa and get help from Fei Diwata.