Encuentra tu próximo/a audiolibro favorito/a

Conviértete en miembro hoy y escucha gratis durante 30 días
All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook


All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

valoraciones:
4.5/5 (18 valoraciones)
Longitud:
9 horas
Editorial:
Publicado:
Mar 1, 2016
ISBN:
9780062448187
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro

Descripción

Junior Library Guild Selection * Kids' Indie Next List Pick

From Leslie Connor, award-winning author of Waiting for Normal and Crunch, comes a soaring and heartfelt story about love, forgiveness, and how innocence makes us all rise up. All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook is a powerful story, perfect for fans of Wonder and When You Reach Me.

Eleven-year-old Perry was born and raised by his mom at the Blue River Co-ed Correctional Facility in tiny Surprise, Nebraska. His mom is a resident on Cell Block C, and so far Warden Daugherty has made it possible for them to be together. That is, until a new district attorney discovers the truth-and Perry is removed from the facility and forced into a foster home.

When Perry moves to the "outside" world, he feels trapped. Desperate to be reunited with his mom, Perry goes on a quest for answers about her past crime. As he gets closer to the truth, he will discover that love makes people resilient no matter where they come from . . . but can he find a way to tell everyone what home truly means?

Editorial:
Publicado:
Mar 1, 2016
ISBN:
9780062448187
Formato:
Audiolibro

También disponible como...

También disponible como libroLibro


Sobre el autor

Leslie Connor is the author of several award-winning books for children, including two ALA Schneider Family Book Award winners, Waiting for Normal and The Truth as Told by Mason Buttle, which was also selected as a National Book Award finalist. Her other books include All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook, Crunch, and The Things You Kiss Goodbye. She lives in the Connecticut woods with her family and three rescue dogs. You can visit her online at www.leslieconnor.com.

Relacionado con All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

Audiolibros relacionados

Reseñas

Lo que piensa la gente sobre All Rise for the Honorable Perry T. Cook

4.6
18 valoraciones / 8 Reseñas
¿Qué te pareció?
Calificación: 0 de 5 estrellas

Reseñas de lectores

  • (3/5)
    The premise was interesting, but not plausible.i think student Readers won't be bothered by an incarcerated woman in for manslaughter had been allowed to raise her son born while in prison for 12 years.he is happy growing up in a minimum secure coed prison. He has friends, (all adults except for the lenient warden), and enjoys food in the cafeteria along with the inmates. He makes morning announcements and welcomes the new intakes. This all changes when his best friend's stepfather gets wind of the situation. He wants Perry out of that "unhealthy" environment. St least he does offer his home as a place to live until Perry's mother Jessica is released which is to be soon. Problem, his new foster parent is the DA and doesn't think Jessica has really servers her sentence fully since she has been allowed to raise her child all these years.
  • (5/5)
    What an interesting story and premise! The author asked herself, "What if a baby was born to a prison inmate? What if the mother was allowed to keep the baby and raise it there? What might happen? Who would the family be?" I was intrigued by this and bought a copy. It is a wonderful story about a boy who is so clever and thoughtful. I loved the story.
  • (5/5)
    Perry has just been taken from the only home he's ever known, the Blue River Co-Ed Correctional Facility. The warden is his foster parent and his mother is an inmate. When a district attorney decides he needs to be on the outside, Perry finds himself removed from his family and his mother's parole case stalled. He does some investigating to find the stories of the inmates. A moving stories with compelling characters. Perry and his best friend Zoey are supportive and clever.
  • (5/5)
    Perry Cook is a beautiful character. Leslie Connor is skillful at showing us the goodness in all of us.
  • (5/5)
    This book was very out of the ordinary in terms of subject. Perry's raised in a co-ed correctional facility while his mother is serving time for manslaughter. Perry is a bright and well liked young boy who is friends with everyone. Although his childhood is not like most, his character is relatable and provides readers with the ability to learn about the power of honesty and speaking up for yourself to adults.
  • (5/5)
    This 2020 Nutmeg nominee was a refreshing read! Perry has lived all of his twelve years in prison—not as a prisoner, but as a prisoner's son. It's a minimum security prison that feels like family, he goes to school, and he has Zoey as his best friend. Life is fine until the DA discovers he's living there and not only pulls him out against his will, but puts his mother's parole hearing on hold. What gets Perry through his days is following an inmate's advice. Big Ed has a motto: Win-Win. "The first 'win' means you count all small good things that happen to you every day . . . The second 'win' means you do things that bring victories to others." There are many positive messages and actions such as this throughout the book. I immediately started applying some of them to my own life and I can see them as useful coping strategies for student readers, too. But it's not a sickly-sweet book. There is adversity to face and a determined Perry who investigates on his own to help his mother. The prison setting is Surprise, Nebraska, but the biggest surprise might be what Perry discovers about his mom. Add to this the personal interviews the inmates give Perry for a school project, the DA who causes so much trouble and is flawed but ultimately well-intentioned, and realizing that even the school bully might have some redeeming qualities. There were a few things that were too coincidental and some typos (e.g., Bid Ed instead of Big Ed—where are the copywriters these days?), but the voice drew me in and made it a book hard to put down.
  • (4/5)
    I love Leslie Connor and this book doesn't change that one bit. Perry was born in a prison and has been allowed to leave there for years until a well-meaning DA decides this is no longer appropriate. All of the characters, major and minor, have little quirks that make them stand out and Perry's journey to understanding is sweet but honest.
  • (3/5)
    Readers are immediately drawn into the lively community that is Blue River Co-Ed Correctional Facility and Perry T. Cook's home for all of his 11 years. He is suddenly removed from his incarcerated mother and extended family of inmates when the district attorney learns of his unusual residential situation. The love Perry receives from Blue River shows that redemption is always possible. I was a little skeptical of a co-