Harnessing the five love languages for a strong friendship

It’s been almost 30 years since Dr Gary Chapman, a Christian pastor and relationships counsellor, released his popular manual, The 5 Love Languages: the Secret to Love that Lasts. According to Dr Chapman’s taxonomy, there are five ways most of us express and would like to receive love: gifts, physical touch, words of affirmation, quality time and acts of service.

These five categories, Dr Chapman posits, offer an uncomplicated framework wherein couples can communicate and understand what each other needs to feel valued. At the core of Chapman’s book is the idea that, given five simple categories, couples can break through the communication barrier and become better lovers. It’s a simple idea, one based around the belief that a healthy relationship is maintained through optimum communication.

You don’t

Estás leyendo una vista previa, regístrate para leer más.

Más de WellBeing

WellBeing3 min. leídosPsychology
Interesting Slices Of Life
In the wake of COVID-19 the experience of a sense of loneliness is becoming more widespread. Researchers have noted that people who experience chronic loneliness often feel that their lives lack meaning. However, we also know that rituals create mean
WellBeing8 min. leídosWorld
Discovering The Way
Taoism, Confucianism and Buddhism are the three central pillars of traditional Chinese thought. “Taoism” refers to both a philosophical tradition and an organised religion, which in modern Chinese are identified separately as taojia and taojiao respe
WellBeing1 min. leídos
WellBeing Brain Boosters
THE WELLBEING TEAM 8 Orange rhizome (8) 9 Arctic jacket (6) 10 Moisturisers (4,6) 11 Served without ice (4) 12 Celtic language (6) 14 Every now and then (2,3,3) 15 Aisle or esplanade (7) 17 Tropical weed or Anthony LaPaglia film (7) 20 Obstinate, lik